Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Johnson Announces USDA Decision to Open Up CRP Acres, Designate Numerous South Dakota Counties Disaster Areas

Press Release

Location: Washington DC

U.S. Senator Tim Johnson (D-SD) today announced that U.S. Department of Agriculture (USDA) Secretary Tom Vilsack is relaxing regulations in order for livestock producers to access feed. The decision follows Johnson's recent request for USDA to ease restrictions on the Conservation Reservation Program wetland and farmable wetland acres.

Also today, Johnson announced that USDA has designated 25 South Dakota counties as primary natural disaster areas. USDA also designated 14 SD Counties as contiguous disaster areas.

"I applaud Secretary Vilsack for taking action that will help South Dakota producers now get access to feed for their livestock. Using his administrative authority to ease restrictions on CRP emergency haying and grazing is crucial," said Johnson. "With so many areas of our state battling this drought, I am also pleased that USDA has designated many of our counties as disaster areas so they will be able to access important assistance."

USDA announced that the following counties are designated primary natural disaster areas: Bennett, Bon Homme, Butte, Charles Mix, Clay, Custer, Davison, Douglas, Fall River, Gregory, Haakon, Hanson, Hutchinson, Jackson, Lawrence, Lincoln, McCook, Meade, Pennington, Shannon, Todd, Tripp, Turner, Union and Yankton.

USDA also announced that the following counties are contiguous disaster areas: Aurora, Brule, Dewey, Harding, Jones, Lake, Lyman, Mellette, Miner, Minnehaha, Perkins, Sanborn, Stanley and Ziebach.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top