Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Petri Applauds Disaster Declaration

Press Release

Location: Unknown

Congressman Tom Petri said that he is pleased with today's federal disaster declaration for the counties of Adams, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Dodge, Fond du Lac, Grant, Green, Green Lake, Iowa, Jefferson, Kenosha, Lafayette, Marquette, Milwaukee, Ozaukee, Racine, Richland, Rock, Sauk, Walworth, Washington and Waukesha. Benefits are also available for the contiguous counties of Calumet, Juneau, Portage, Sheboygan, Vernon, Waushara, Winnebago and Wood.

"The drought conditions are just terrible for Wisconsin's farmers, and they need help," he said. "This is officially an 'extreme drought' affecting several crops including corn, alfalfa, and soybeans."

Governor Scott Walker requested the declaration on July 19. The following day, Petri joined other members of Wisconsin's congressional delegation in sending a letter in support of the Governor's request.

Producers in both primary and contiguous counties are eligible to be considered for Farm Service Agency (FSA) emergency loans. Farmers in eligible counties have eight months from the date of a Secretarial disaster declaration to apply for emergency loan assistance. FSA will consider each emergency loan application on its own merits, taking into account the extent of production losses, security available, and repayment ability

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top