Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

IowaWORKS Access Point System Receives International Technology Award

Press Release

Location: Des Moines, IA

Gov. Terry Branstad and Lt. Gov. Kim Reynolds today announced that Iowa Workforce Development's new IowaWORKS Access Point System has received NetApp's International Technology Award.

During this year's 8th annual Innovation Awards, NetApp honored a few of the exceptional visionaries who demonstrated that IT can be foundational to business success. The award winners have one thing in common; they had the vision to think differently to achieve results that are remarkable. NetApp announced the winners and finalists of the Innovation Awards program on Wednesday, June 20, 2012 during a distinguished awards ceremony at The Tech Museum in San Jose, California.

"I am excited to see Iowa's effective, efficient initiatives garnering national attention and awards," said Gov. Branstad. "Our access point system through Workforce Development is a proven method to get Iowans back to work while expanding services, locations and hours at a savings to Iowa taxpayers."

Over 200 global nominations were submitted for the 2012 Innovation Awards from multiple countries and industries. The award categories address the business impact of IT: Efficiency Innovation, Flexibility Innovation and Visionary Leadership.

In addition to these categories, The Innovator of the Year category recognizes one winner from each of the following four global geographies: Americas, APAC, EMEA, and U.S. Public Sector.

The 2012 Innovator of the Year for the U.S. Public Sector is Iowa Workforce Development, nominated for their technology driven, statewide workforce service delivery project.

"Iowa Workforce Development executed a cost effective virtualization project which saved our agency over $6 million while delivering services to more Iowans, in more locations than the previous system," stated Iowa Workforce Development Director Teresa Wahlert. "Workforce services are now delivered in every county through 700+ access points, 15 regional centers and 4 satellite offices."

Additional Innovation Award winners include: Mercy Healthcare System, T-Systems Austria, Oxigen Services India Pvt. Ltd., Teradata Labs, Verizon Communications, Inc. and ING Direct.

"We are pleased that NetApp has recognized Iowa's culture of innovation within state government," said Reynolds. "Workforce Development's streamlined efforts are a model for all of state government, and this award establishes them as a model for the entire country."

The NetApp Innovation Awards program distinguishes itself by relying on a prestigious panel of international judges for the four main categories. These judges determine the award winners based on their outside expertise and a critical, unbiased assessment of real-world deployments at customer sites. The NetApp 2012 Innovation Award Judges were: Deni Connor, Principal Analyst, Storage Strategies NOW; and Contributing Editor, InformationWeek; Carsten Knop, Senior Business Editor, Frankfurter Allgemeine Zeitung; Vijay Ramachandran, Editor-in-Chief, IDG Media India Pvt. Ltd.; and Benjamin S. Woo, previously program vice president, worldwide storage systems research and lead analyst, big data infrastructure.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top