Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Governor Brewer Announces Members of the Transaction Privilege Tax Simplification Task Force

Press Release

Location: Phoenix, AZ

Governor Jan Brewer today appointed members to the Transaction Privilege Tax (TPT) Simplification Task Force.

The panel, consisting of tax experts, business owners, municipal representatives and others, has been asked to issue recommendations on how the Arizona sales tax code can be made simpler and easier for taxpayers to comply with and the State to administer. Arizona's sales tax system is generally considered among the nation's most complex.

The TPT Task Force was established through an Executive Order issued May 11, 2012, the same day Governor Brewer signed into law HB 2815 -- a tax-reform package aimed at spurring job creation and economic development in Arizona.
"Sales tax is arguably the most critical source of revenue for the core programs and services provided by State government," said Governor Brewer. "With this panel of dedicated and knowledgeable experts, Arizona is one step closer to adopting a user-friendly tax system that will benefit our economy and taxpayers."

Appointed to the panel are a dozen of the State's leading experts on tax policy. Michael Hunter, the Governor's Director of Legislative Affairs and Special Advisor on Tax Policy and Reform, will serve as the Governor Brewer's designee and act as chairman of the Task Force on her behalf. The Task Force will also utilize the expertise of outside tax experts and stakeholders though public testimony and working groups.

The Task Force must submit its recommendations to the Governor, Speaker of the House and Senate President no later than Dec. 31, 2012.
Members of the TPT Task Force include:

John Olson, Senior Tax Auditor, Town of Gilbert Miguel Teposte, Finance Supervisor -- Tax, City of Phoenix Tom Belshe, Deputy Director, Arizona League of Cities and Towns Kevin McCarthy, President, Arizona Tax Research Association Steve Barela, State and Local Tax Manager, Arizona Public Service Company Linda Stanfield, President, Benjamin Franklin Plumbing Keely Hitt, Senior Tax Manager, Circle K Stores, Inc.

Lynne Herndon, City President, BBVA Compass Vince Perez, Deputy Director, Department of Revenue State Senator John McComish State Representative Rick Gray

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top