Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Committee Leaders Respond to President's Nomination of Macfarlane for NRC Chairman


Location: Washington, DC

House Energy and Commerce Committee Chairman Fred Upton (R-MI), Energy and Power Subcommittee Chairman Ed Whitfield (R-KY), and Environment and the Economy Subcommittee Chairman John Shimkus (R-IL) made the following statement in response to today's announcement by the White House that President Obama will nominate Allison Macfarlane to replace Gregory Jaczko as Chairman of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission:

"We are hopeful that the announcement of Allison Macfarlane will bring about a swift close to Chairman Jaczko's tumultuous and controversial tenure.

"Unfortunately, the White House seems to be replacing one anti-nuclear activist with another. The president's choice in Allison Macfarlane, an outspoken opponent of Yucca Mountain, underscores the Obama administration's misplaced priorities when it comes to nuclear policy.

"Macfarlane's selection reveals that President Obama and Harry Reid have a Yucca Mountain litmus test for any prospective nuclear chief. As we continue overseeing the agency and its leadership, our litmus test will be their adherence to the law -- including the law on Yucca Mountain.

"We will continue our scrutiny regardless who the NRC chair is and we will hold the commission accountable to faithfully carrying out the law, and the chairman, to ensuring that all commissioners have equal access to information and equal opportunity to form policy."

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top