Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Governor O'Malley, Senate President Miller, House Speaker Busch Announce Members of the Work Group to Consider Gaming Expansion

Press Release

Location: Annapolis, MD

Governor O'Malley, Senate President Miller and House Speaker Busch today announced the names of the Work Group to Consider Gaming Expansion, which will study the issues associated with a potential expansion of gaming in Maryland, and, if appropriate, propose legislation that may be considered by the General Assembly at a Special Session in July. The first meeting of the group will be held on June 1, 2012 at 10:00 a.m. in Room 101 of the House Office Building.

"It became evident in the 2012 legislative session that the issue of gaming should be examined in more detail," said Governor O'Malley. "We are pleased to announce the members of this work group to consider the issue of gaming in our State. We are confident that their expertise and guidance will help us move toward consensus on this issue."

John Morton, III, has been selected to chair the Work Group. Mr. Morton, a senior business and financial services executive, brings extensive experience to the work group having served as CEO and President of three major financial institutions, as a board member for six public corporations and as a leader in business, professional, educational and civic organizations. Morton was appointed as a member of the Maryland Stadium Authority on July 1, 2008. On November 7, 2008, Governor O'Malley selected him to succeed Frederick W. Puddester as Chairman.

"I am honored to serve on the Work Group to Consider Gaming Expansion," said John Morton, III. "Working with my fellow members, I hope that we will be able to effectively guide the Governor and the members of the General Assembly toward a consensus on the issue of gaming in Maryland."

The other members of the Work Group are:
Governor's Chief of Staff Matthew Gallagher
Secretary of the Department of Budget and Management T. Eloise Foster
Secretary of Appointments Jeanne Hitchcock
Senior Policy and Legislative Advisor Joseph Bryce
Senator Edward Kasemeyer
Senator Nathaniel McFadden
Senator Richard Madaleno
Delegate Sheila Hixson
Delegate Peter Hammen
Delegate Frank Turner
Alternate members of the group are Senator Douglas Peters, Senator George Edwards, Senator Robert Garagiola, Delegate Dereck Davis, Delegate Robert Costa, and Delegate Eric Luedtke.
The Work Group has tentatively scheduled two additional meetings on June 12 at 10:00 a.m., and on June 20 at 1:00 p.m. If a consensus is reached, a Special Session will be held the week of July 9.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top