Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Sunday Marks Three Year Anniversary of No Budget

Press Release

Location: Washington, DC

In anticipation of the three year anniversary of the Senate's refusal to pass a budget on Sunday, U.S. Senator Dean Heller (R-NV) issued the following statement.

"The time to pass a budget is now. Our debt has increased by more than $5 trillion under this Administration in the past three years. Members of Congress are willfully refusing to put our nation on a path to long-term fiscal responsibility, which threatens our economic security and places a greater burden on our children and grandchildren. Passing a budget every year is one of Congress' most basic responsibilities, yet the Senate has been completely incapable of performing this function. I introduced the No Budget, No Pay Act to force Congress to take this responsibility seriously. If Members of Congress are not doing their job, then they should not get paid," said Senator Dean Heller.

Frustrated with Congress' consistent failure to pass a budget, Senator Heller introduced the No Budget, No Pay Act (S. 1981). This bill requires Congress to pass a concurrent budget resolution and related appropriations bills in order to receive pay. Pay is not awarded retroactively if Congress passes a budget after the deadline has passed.

Heller's legislation, initially introduced in July 2011, is gaining momentum. On March 14, 2012 Heller testified about No Budget, No Pay before the Senate Homeland Security and Governmental Affairs Committee. The following senators have cosponsored No Budget, No Pay:

Sen. Kelly Ayotte (R-NH)
Sen. John Barrasso (R-WY)
Sen. John Boozman (R-AR)
Sen. Richard Burr (R-NC)
Sen. Saxby Chambliss (R-GA)
Sen. Bob Corker (R-TN)
Sen. John Cornyn (R-TX)
Sen. Joe Manchin (D-WV)
Sen. Olympia Snowe (R-ME)
Sen. David Vitter (R-LA)

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top