Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Governor Announces KanCare Advisory Council

Press Release

Location: Topeka, KS

Kansas Governor Sam Brownback announced today the members of the KanCare Advisory Council. The council consists of 20 members, including representatives of consumer groups moving into integrated care under Kansas' Medicaid reform.

"KanCare is the result of involved, detailed study and planning that began more than a year ago. Thousands of Kansans took part in that process. This advisory council will continue to provide the Administration with ongoing insight and recommendations as we move forward with the implementation of KanCare," Governor Brownback said. "I look forward to working with such a diverse group to ensure the best person-centered care coordination model in the country."

The council has representatives from mental health, substance abuse, disabilities, doctors, hospitals, pharmacists, seniors, tribal organizations, family members, legislators and consumers.

Andy Brown, Lawrence, representing children's advocate network
John Calbeck, M.D., Garden City, representing substance abuse providers
Barney Mayse, Overland Park, representing physically disabled Medicaid consumers
Representative Brenda Landwehr, Wichita, representing the Kansas House of Representatives
Craig Concannon, M.D., FACP, Beloit, representing medical providers
Dave Geist, Dodge City, representing area aging agencies
Senator Vicki Schmidt, Topeka, representing the Kansas Senate
David Sanford, Wichita, representing primary care providers
Kevin Bryant, M.D., C.M.D., Wichita, representing nursing facility providers
Audrey Schremmer-Philip, Wamego, representing independent living centers
Senator Alan Schmidt, Hays, representing the Kansas Senate
Larry Martin, Valley Falls, representing senior Medicaid consumers
Mary Barba, Topeka, representing developmental disabled Medicaid consumers
Collin McKinney, Valley Center, representing developmental disability service providers
Mike Conlin, R.Ph, F.A.C.A., F.I.A.C.P., C.E.A.C., Topeka, representing community pharmacists
Randy Johnson, MA, CPS, Lawrence, representing mental health care Medicaid consumers
Steve Kelly, Newton, representing hospitals
Representative Jerry Henry, Cummings, representing the Kansas House of Representatives
Susette Schwartz, Wichita, representing health clinics and tribal organizations
Walt Hill, Hays, representing mental health care providers

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top