Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Governor Lincoln D. Chafee Announces Appointments to Municipal Pension Study Panel

Press Release

Location: Providence, RI

Governor Lincoln D. Chafee today announced his appointment of Mr. Paul Doughty, President of Local 799 of the International Association of Firefighters (Providence), Ms. Jean Bouchard, Municipal Vice President, AFSCME, Council 94, and Sergeant Steven St. Pierre of the Bristol Police Department to the municipal pension study commission established by the Rhode Island Retirement Security Act of 2011.

"I am confident that Paul, Jean, and Sergeant St. Pierre will bring valuable experience and perspective to the study commission. They represent the Rhode Islanders who work hard and risk their lives day in and day out to ensure that our cities and towns are safe, secure, and delivering the services on which citizens depend. I look forward to the findings of this commission as we continue our efforts to protect the property taxpayer, provide retirement security for employees and retirees, and address the financial issues facing our municipalities," Governor Chafee said.

The 14-member panel is charged with reviewing existing legislation and pension plan administrative practices and making recommendations for the improved security and funding of locally administered plans and other post-retirement benefit obligations of cities and towns.

House Speaker Gordon D. Fox yesterday announced his selection of Antonio Pires, former Pawtucket State Representative and former Chairman of the House Committee on Finance.

Senate President M. Teresa Paiva Weed yesterday announced the appointment of J. Michael Lenihan of East Greenwich, former State Senator and former Chairman of the Senate Committee on Finance.

The three municipal officials named jointly by Speaker Fox and Senate President Paiva Weed: Providence Mayor Angel Taveras, as the mayor from a city or town with a population greater than 50,000; Johnston Mayor (and former State Senator) Joseph M. Polisena, as the mayor of a city or town with a population of less than 50,000; and Jamestown Town Administrator Bruce R. Keiser, as the administrator of a town.

In addition to the aforementioned appointees, the commission will be composed of: the Director of the Department of Revenue (who will serve as chair); the Auditor General; the General Treasurer; a representative of the Department of Administration; a representative of the RI League of Cities and Towns; and a representative of the RI Public Expenditures Council.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.00 but know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a charge of $0.00 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top