Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Congressmen Jeff Flake and Jim Cooper Introduce Earmark Elimination Act of 2011

Press Release

Location: Washington, DC

Republican Congressmen Jeff Flake, a member of the House Appropriations Committee, and Democratic Congressman Jim Cooper of Tennessee today introduced the Earmark Elimination Act of 2011 (H.R. 3707) which would permanently ban congressional earmarks in the House of Representatives.

The Earmark Elimination Act would permanently prohibit the House from considering legislation containing earmarks and would strip any earmarks found in proposed legislation considered by the House, allowing it to proceed.

"This legislation is the next step to ensuring that earmarks are permanently banned," said Flake. "If Congress can't stop earmarking, taxpayers will have no confidence that Congress can tackle larger spending items and get our fiscal crisis under control."

"I've called for an end to earmarks for years. Americans know their tax dollars are being wasted, and it's about time my colleagues got serious about reform," Cooper said. "Congress is badly broken, and this is an important step toward fiscal discipline."

The Earmark Elimination Act was introduced in the Senate (S. 1930) by Republican Senator Pat Toomey of Pennsylvania and Democratic Senator Claire McCaskill of Missouri.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top