Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Letter to the Honorable Harry Reid, Majority Leader of the US Senate, the Honorable John Boehner, Speaker of the US House of Representatives, the Honorable Mitch McConnell, Minority Leader of the US Senate, and the Honorable Nancy Pelosi Minority Leader, US House of Representatives - Urging Extension of Unemployment Compensation

Dear Senator Reid, Senator McConnell, Speaker Boehner, and Representative Pelosi,

We write to urge you to swiftly pass a one-year extension of the Emergency Unemployment Compensation Program ("EUC") and 100% federal funding of the Extended Benefits ("EB") Program before they expire on December 31.

We are extremely concerned about the potential impact of the expiration of these programs on families and our economic recovery as a whole. Unless Congress extends these programs before adjourning for the holidays, nearly 2 million unemployed workers will lose this critical support in January 2012 alone. Now is not the time to turn our backs on hard-working Americans. Individuals who are laid off through no fault of their own rely on these funds to support their families.

Extending unemployment insurance is a critical part of our ability to speed up the economic recovery process. Unemployment insurance benefits are immediately injected back into the economy. According to the Congressional Budget Office, federally extended unemployment insurance benefits provide one of the best bangs for the buck in terms of stimulating economic growth.

Congress has never failed to act on extending federal unemployment insurance benefits when the unemployment rate has exceeded 7.2%, and we must not fail our citizens now.

We urge immediate action to extend Emergency Unemployment Compensation and 100% federal funds for the Extended Benefits program through the end of 2012.


Governor Pat Quinn

Governor John Hickenloopor

Governor Edmund Gerald Brown

Governor Jack Markell

Governor Steven Beshear

Governor Deval Patrick

Governor Dannel P. Malloy

Governor Neil Abercrombie

Govemor Martin O'Malley

Govemor Mark Dayton

Governor Andrew Cuomo
New York

Governor Bev Perdue
North Carolina

Governor John A. Kitzhaber, M.D.

Governor John deJongh,Jr.
Virgin Islands

Governor Peter Shumlin

Governor Chris Gregoire

Cc: Senate Finance Committee Chairman Max Baucus
Senate Finance Committee Ranking Member Chuck Grassley
House Ways and Means Committee Chairman Dave Camp
House Ways and Means Committee Ranking Member Sander Levin

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top