Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Members of Congress Sign Amicus Brief in Support of DOJ Lawsuit Against HB 5639

Rep. Luis Gutierrez (IL-4) and 38 other House Democrats signed a brief of amicus curiae in support of the Department of Justice lawsuit against Alabama's anti-immigrant law, HB 56. The amicus brief, which was filed on Monday, November 21st, asserts foremost that the Alabama statute is unconstitutional because it is preempted by federal law. The amicus brief also highlights the harm that the Alabama statute will cause to all Alabamans, including citizens. Rep. Gutierrez led the effort to enlist his congressional colleagues in signing on to the amicus brief and led a delegation of Members of Congress who traveled to Alabama on November 21st to hear directly from Alabamans about the devastating impact of the new draconian law.

"The Constitution is quite clear about the federal government's preeminent role in immigration matters and having 50 inconsistent state policies towards immigrants is a level of chaos the Founders sought to avoid," said Rep. Luis V. Gutierrez, who chairs the Immigration Task Force of the Congressional Hispanic Caucus. "HB 56 adds layers of punitive measures targeting Alabama residents that are inconsistent with federal policy. Congress has the responsibility to balance many concerns in legislating federal immigration policy, such as law enforcement, the economy, family unity, education, civil rights, and so on. HB 56 has and will cause irreparable harm to communities and families throughout Alabama, but will also cause irreparable damage to Constitutional principles if allowed to stand. We join the U.S. Department of Justice, civil rights organizations, immigrant advocates, educators and people of faith in calling for HB 56 to be stripped from Alabama's law books."

The Members of the House of Representatives signed on to the amicus brief include Democratic Whip, Steny Hoyer (D-MD), Judiciary Committee Ranking Member, John Conyers (D-MI), Immigration Subcommittee Ranking Member, Zoe Lofgren (D-CA), and Rep. Terri Sewell (D-AL).

The complete list is as follows:

Congressman Joe Baca

Congressman Xavier Becerra

Congressman Dennis Cardoza

Congresswoman Judy Chu

Congresswoman Yvette Clarke

Congressman John Conyers

Congressman Jim Costa

Congressman Ted Deutch

Congressman Keith Ellison

Congresswoman Anna Eshoo

Congressman Charles Gonzalez

Congressman Al Green

Congressman Raúl Grijalva

Congressman Luis Gutierrez

Congresswoman Janice Hahn

Congressman Rubén Hinojosa

Congressman Mike Honda

Congressman Steny Hoyer

Congressman Jesse L. Jackson, Jr.

Congresswoman Zoe Lofgren

Congresswoman Carolyn Maloney

Congressman Jim McDermott

Congressman Gregory Meeks

Congresswoman Gwen Moore

Congressman Jim Moran

Congresswoman Grace Napolitano

Congresswoman Eleanor Holmes Norton

Congressman Pedro Pierluisi

Congressman Jared Polis

Congressman Mike Quigley

Congressman Charles Rangel

Congressman Silvestre Reyes

Congresswoman Lucille Roybal-Allard

Congressman Gregorio Sablan

Congresswoman Janice Schakowsky

Congressman José Serrano

Congresswoman Terri Sewell

Congressman Albio Sires

Congresswoman Nydia Velázquez

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top