Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Governor Signs Redistricting Legislation

Press Release

Location: Pierre, SD

Gov. Dennis Daugaard today signed two redistricting bills approved by wide
margins on Monday in the South Dakota Legislature.

"I commend the South Dakota House and Senate for adopting redistricting plans that are both fair and practical," the Governor said. "Special thanks go out to members of the Legislature's Redistricting Committee for all of their diligence and hard work. The task was not easy, but they stuck with it and came up with a good plan after conducting 17 public meetings."

The redistricting bills set the boundaries for South Dakota's 35 legislative districts and five Supreme Court districts, based on the 2010 Census for the state. The new districts will apply for the 2012 through 2020 elections. State lawmakers are up for re-election every two years. The legislative redistricting plan cleared the South Dakota House on a 50-18 vote and passed the Senate 31-4. The Supreme Court redistricting bill passed the House 67-1 and the Senate 35-0.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top