Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

FEMA Activates Remaining Permanent Work Categories for the Public Assistance Program for Counties Affected by Missouri River Flood

Press Release

Location: Unknown

Today, FEMA notified the State of Iowa that the remaining permanent work categories for the Public Assistance program had been activated for the counties of Fremont, Harrison, Mills, Monona, Pottawattamie, and Woodbury. These categories include projects related to roads and bridges, utilities, water control facilities, public buildings and equipment, and parks and recreation areas.

Governor Branstad expressed his satisfaction on the activation of the remaining work categories.

"This is the final puzzle piece to help Iowa counties and cities repair infrastructure that has been damaged by the Missouri River flood," said Branstad. "However, we continue to work to activate the Individual Assistance programs for homeowners and businesses. I am optimistic that the work that the Iowa Homeland Security and Emergency Management Division is doing with local officials will lead to these programs being activated for these six Iowa counties."

On June 27, 2011, President Obama declared these six counties as a major disaster area for emergency protective measures and debris removal under the Public Assistance Program.

A Presidential Major Disaster Declaration for Public Assistance puts into motion long-term federal recovery programs, some of which are matched by state programs, and designed to help public entities and select non-profits. Public Assistance funds may be used for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities and may include debris removal, emergency protective measures, repair of damaged public property, loans needed by communities for essential government functions and grants for public schools.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top