Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Infosecurity | House Republican Cybersecurity Task Force Given Until October to Respond to Administration

Press Release

Location: Unknown

The House Republican leadership has tasked Rep. Mac Thornberry (R-Texas) to head a cybersecurity task force to analyze the Obama administration's cybersecurity legislative proposal and to develop a Republican response by October.

The cybersecurity task force, which is made up of 12 Republican House members, will develop recommendations on cybersecurity authorities, information sharing and public-private partnerships, critical infrastructure protection, and domestic legal frameworks for cybersecurity protections.

The group's October deadline suggests that the House Republicans leadership has no plans to move on cybersecurity legislation before then.

"American jobs and national security depend upon our nation's ability to innovate and dominate information technology fields. I'm pleased Congressman Thornberry will be heading up this important effort to evaluate what the House can do to help secure America's technology infrastructures", commented House Speaker John Boehner (R-Ohio) in appointing Thornberry.

Thornberry added, "We're reminded daily about the risk to our economic and national security from cyber attacks. Cybersecurity needs to be a priority, and this task force will lay the foundation to make it one in the House."

In addition to Thornberry, the task force members are Robert Aderholt (R-Ala.), Jason Chaffetz (R-Utah), Mike Coffman (R-Colo.), Bob Goodlatte (R-Va.), Rob Hurt (R-Va.), Bob Latta (R-Ohio), Dan Lungren (R-Calif.), Mike McCaul (R-Texas), Tim Murphy (R-Pa.), Steve Stivers (R-Ohio), and Lee Terry (R-Neb.).

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top