Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Hanna, Hinchey Honor Fallen Federal Employees on Flag Day

U.S. Representative Richard Hanna (R-Barneveld) and U.S. Representative Maurice Hinchey (D-Hurley) today announced legislation to recognize and honor federal civilian employees killed while performing official duties.

Today, on Flag Day, the congressmen announced H.R. 2061 the "Civilian Service Recognition Act of 2011," to honor federal civilian employees who tragically lose their lives as a result of the duties they pledge to fulfill on behalf of the United States Government.

The legislation would allow for federal agencies to present an American flag for the funeral of a federal civilian employee killed while performing official duties or because of the individual's status as a federal employee. More than two million federal civilian employees work within our country and in countless overseas posts.

"Like members of the Armed Services, civilian federal employees are often in harm's way. Ours is a grateful nation, one that values the sacrifices made in honor of this country," Hanna said. "A life can never be repaid, but it can be honored."

"Every year federal civilian employees are killed at home and abroad doing their duty for our nation," Hanna said. "The American flag embodies the values of our nation that these individuals worked to uphold. This legislation would provide a modest, but significant, benefit in honor of these dedicated individuals who sacrificed on our behalf. I am pleased to announce this initiative on Flag Day."

"From Iraq to Afghanistan and Oklahoma City to Ground Zero, thousands of federal civilian employees have died while performing their official duties," Hinchey said. "This bipartisan legislation honors their sacrifice with the presentation of the American flag they swore an oath to defend. This is the least that we can do to show the gratitude of our country for their service."

The following Members of Congress have signed on as co-sponsors of H.R. 2061, the Civilian Service Recognition Act of 2011:
Rep. Roscoe G. Bartlett (R-MD);
Rep. Madeline Z. Bordallo (D-GU);
Rep. Gerald E. "Gerry" Connolly (D-VA);
Rep. Donna F. Edwards (D-MD);
Rep. Sam Farr (D-CA);
Rep. Bob Filner (D-CA);
Rep. Raul M. Grijalva (D-AZ);
Rep. Andy Harris (R-MD);
Rep. Eleanor Holmes Norton (D-DC);
Rep. William L. Owens (D-NY);
Rep. Silvestre Reyes (D-TX);
Rep. Lynn A. Westmoreland (R-GA);
Rep. Robert J. Wittman (R-VA;)
Rep. Frank R. Wolf (R-VA);
Rep. Billy Long (R-MO);
Rep. Jim Moran (D-VA)

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top