Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Gov. Nikki Haley Responds to Lawsuit Filed by McConnell

Press Release

Location: Columbia, SC

Governor Nikki Haley today responded to Senate President Pro Tempore Glenn McConnell's unfortunate decision to involve the South Carolina Supreme Court in his effort to stop the S.C. Senate from finishing important restructuring reforms that have already passed the S.C. House of Representatives.

Senate Majority Leader Harvey Peeler, House Speaker Pro Tempore Jay Lucas, House Majority Leader Kenny Bingham and dozens of other legislators have moved to intervene in the case and join with the governor in responding to the lawsuit filed by State Sen. McConnell.

The governor's motion to dismiss and the motion to intervene on behalf of legislators are attached.

Gov. Haley said, "Attorney General Alan Wilson reiterated his legal support for our authority to call the General Assembly into special session, and it's disappointing to see Senator McConnell involve the Court today. What we have offered Senators is an extended opportunity, which they asked for, to finish the people's business. If the energy invested in avoiding coming back to work would instead go into passing these important restructuring reforms, South Carolina would be far better served.

The governor went on to say, "I want to thank the following legislators who today stood with us in support of finishing the work of restructuring state government: Senate Majority Leader Harvey Peeler, House Speaker Pro Tempore Jay Lucas, House Majority Leader Kenny Bingham, State Sen. Lee Bright, State Sen. Kevin Bryant, State Sen. Ronnie Cromer, State Sen. Greg Gregory, State Sen. Mike Rose, State Sen. Greg Ryberg, State Sen. David Thomas, State Rep. Rita Allison, State Rep. Nathan Ballentine, State Rep. Eric Bikas, State Rep. Bill Chumley, State Rep. Alan Clemmons, State Rep. Tom Corbin, State Rep. Tracy Edge, State Rep. Shannon Erickson, State Rep. Marion Frye, State Rep. Dan Hamilton, State Rep. Chip Huggins, State Rep. Phillip Lowe, State Rep. Jim Merrill, State Rep. Wendy Nanney, State Rep. Ralph Norman, State Rep. Andy Patrick, State Rep. Tommy Pope, and State Rep. Gary Simrill."

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top