Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Ross, Congressional Delegation Announce $3.8 Million Emergency Grant for Arkansas

Press Release

Location: Washington, DC

U.S. Congressman Mike Ross of Prescott and U.S. Senators Mark Pryor and John Boozman, along with Congressmen Rick Crawford (AR-1), Tim Griffin (AR-2) and Steve Womack (AR-3), today announced that the Arkansas Department of Workforce Services will receive a $3,758,327 National Emergency Grant (NEG) from the U.S. Department of Labor. The funds will be used to create temporary jobs for Arkansans who were dislocated by severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding in April.

"Unfortunately, Arkansas has experienced more than its fair share of storms and flooding over the past few months," said Congressman Ross. "Often times, disasters can be overwhelming for many of our communities, who have to rebuild entire parts of their town, and many families, who may be displaced from their jobs for an extended period of time because their place of employment has been destroyed or heavily damaged due to recent storms and floods. This grant will help Arkansas recover and rebuild."

"After severe storms, tornadoes, and flooding swept through our state, many Arkansans lost their homes and their jobs," Senator Pryor said. "This grant will help Arkansas rebuild, recover, and come out stronger than before."

"The damage done by Mother Nature left Arkansans in the hardest-hit areas needing help cleaning up. These funds will provide assistance and resources to restore these communities," Senator Boozman said.

"I'm pleased more emergency funds are made available to Arkansans who are displaced due to severe weather," Congressman Crawford said. "I continue to pray for the safety of all Arkansans as they work to recover from the devastating storms that swept across our state."

"I have seen firsthand the devastation many Arkansans have experienced and am pleased they will be able to get assistance in rebuilding their lives and livelihoods through pre-existing funding designated for the purpose of helping communities impacted by disasters," said Congressman Griffin.

"It's been an incredibly tough spring for many around the state," said Congressman Womack. "We've seen severe weather devastate towns all across Arkansas, destroying homes and businesses, and taking lives in the process. I have no doubt that we will grow stronger from this but healing will come only with time; however, this grant will allow many Arkansans to return to some kind of normalcy--in spite of the tragic circumstances--and begin rebuilding their lives."

The Disaster National Emergency Grant will create temporary employment to assist with clean-up, demolition, repair, renovation, and reconstruction of destroyed public structures, facilities, and lands in affected communities. When needed, workers will also be responsible for delivering humanitarian aid and safety assistance.

The following counties in Arkansas are eligible to receive assistance under the grant: Baxter, Benton, Boone, Calhoun, Carroll, Chicot, Clark, Clay, Cleburne, Cleveland, Conway, Crawford, Crittenden, Dallas, Faulkner, Franklin, Fulton, Garland, Greene, Hot Spring, Howard, Independence, Izard, Johnson, Lawrence, Lincoln, Madison, Marion, Montgomery, Nevada, Newton, Perry, Pike, Polk, Randolph, Saline, Searcy, Sharp, Stone, Van Buren, Washington, White, and Yell.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top