Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Owens, Rehberg to Co-Chair Bipartisan House Northern Border Caucus


Location: Washington, DC

Congressmen Denny Rehberg (MT-AL) and Bill Owens (NY-23) announced today that they will serve together as co-chairs of the House Northern Border Caucus, a congressional organization of House Members formed to educate Congress and direct legislation on issues facing states along the Canadian border.

"Northern Border communities have a strong relationship with Canada that is critical to the success of job creation efforts along the border and throughout the nation," said Owens. "Cross-border trade accounts for a tremendous amount of economic development in New York's North Country, and I look forward to working with Congressman Rehberg and the rest of the Northern Border Caucus to highlight issues facing communities along the Canadian border and to promote the secure movement of people and goods."

"Montana's 545-mile border with Canada is the longest in the lower 48 states, so our relationships and policies along that border require a dedicated effort in Congress," said Rehberg, who also co-chaired the caucus last Congress. "When folks in Washington talk about securing our borders, they're usually not talking about the 4,000 miles we share with Canada -- but they should. Our northern border has a key role in national trade, transportation, environmental, immigration and security issues. That's what this caucus is all about and I'm pleased to be able to share this responsibility with Congressman Bill Owens."

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top