Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

As Early Voting Kicks Off, Miller-Meeks Announces Districtwide Seniors Coalition

Press Release

Location: Ottumwa, IA

Republican candidate Mariannette Miller-Meeks today announced the names of her senior citizens coalition with representation in all 15 counties in the Second Congressional District.

"Our coalition includes 70 'seasoned citizens' from all 15 counties who know that I'll protect their Social Security benefits, focus my energy on creating jobs for their kids and grandkids, and work hard to rein in government spending and undo legislation like cap-and-trade that is going to raise Iowans' utility bills," Miller-Meeks said. "They know they can count on me to work for an agenda that puts Iowa first as opposed to David Loebsack who puts Nancy Pelosi and her agenda of higher taxes and more government first."

She added, "With today being the first day Iowans can vote early and the latest polling showing the contest in a dead heat, I am very gratified and blessed to have a seniors coalition with the energy, experience and community networks to help carry our campaign to victory on Nov. 2."

The coalition members are:
APPANOOSE: Merle Prater, Mary Toops, Charles Turner

CEDAR: Richard Ebers, Velma Huebner, Freeman Kaufmann, Shirley Geadelmann, Jim Tenley

DAVIS: Helen Ernst

DES MOINES: Larry Mohler

HENRY: Paul Dejaynes, Arnold Dejaynes, William Layne, Floyd Shelledy, Fred Strothman

JEFFERSON: Carole Morrison, Leland Morrison

JOHNSON: Stan Barber, Arleigh Clemens, Susan Clemens, Gloria Dunlap, Doree Eckhoff, Elsie Foerstner, Claudia Horick, PJ Horick, Betty Kirchner, Paul Rudolph, Nancy Townsend, Herb Townsend, Ron Truhlar

LEE: Bill Mullan

LINN: Fred Johnson, Dee Johnson, Vic Klopfenstein, Raymond Neff, Curtis Smith, Jim Toom, Janet Toom

LOUISA: Ruth Buser

MUSCATINE: Jackie Ager, Don Ager, Donna Carlson, Robert Carlson, Max Churchill, Leta Churchill, Jim Dreibelbeis, Merle Glenney, Ron Gradert, Diana Gradert, James Jensen, Virginia Kaska, Gwen McIntosh, Dennis Tripp, Doris Watson, Marilyn Wedel, Paul Wedel

VAN BUREN: Bernadine Barker

WAPELLO: Ernie Harms, Nancy Harms, Ted McCauley, Shirley McCauley

WASHINGTON: Priscilla Frier, Jim Frier, Wayne Gamon, Edonna Gamon; Merrill Mason, Ann Mason

WAYNE: Ann Garber, Keith Garber

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top