Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Iowa Receives Second Presidential Disaster Declaration for Western Iowa

Press Release

Location: Des Moines, IA

Governor Chet Culver today received confirmation that Iowa has received a Presidential Disaster Declaration authorized by President Obama for 12 counties impacted by a severe winter storm beginning Jan. 19, 2010.

"When the January ice storm hit this area, I made a commitment to move quickly and decisively in order to secure assistance for communities in these 12 counties," said Governor Culver. "I greatly appreciate their resilience and perseverance through one of the most severe winters in our state's history."

This declaration provides assistance to state and local governments and certain private nonprofit organizations (including rural electric cooperatives and municipal utilities) for emergency work and the repair or replacement of disaster-damaged facilities. Counties included in the declaration are: Adair, Audubon, Calhoun, Carroll, Cass, Crawford, Guthrie, Harrison, Madison, Pottawattamie, Sac and Shelby.

Public Assistance program funds are available to public entities and select non-profit agencies to rebuild damaged infrastructure that may include roads, bridges, culverts, and other public facilities, or to cover costs of emergency work during the storms.

In addition, the Governor received notification that the Presidential Disaster Declaration includes funding to conduct hazard mitigation activities for the entire state. With this funding, Iowa will be able to minimize the impact of future natural disasters by taking steps now to strengthen existing infrastructure.

Governor Culver also requested and the State of Iowa received a disaster declaration for 21 counties impacted by a severe winter storm beginning Dec. 23, 2009. That declaration was made Feb. 25, 2010.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top