Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

New Dems Applaud Passage Of Small Business Research And Innovation Act


Location: Washington, DC

Today, the New Democrat Coalition, Rep. Rush Holt (NJ-12) and Ron Kind (WI-3), the co-chairs of the Coalition Innovation and Competitiveness Task Force, released the statement after passage of the Enhancing Small Business Research and Innovation Act of 2009 (H.R. 2965), introduced by Rep. Jason Altmire a fellow member of the New Dems:

"Throughout our history, research and innovation have allowed the United States to remain competitive in this global market. It is our innovative hi-tech small businesses that will be vital to economic recovery growth. By expanding these two successful small business programs, the House of Representatives is taking an important step toward fostering future development and growth.

"The New Democrats applaud the work of the Small Business Committee and House Leadership on the passage of this legislation that will provide the much needed support for our country's small businesses to invest in the next generation of creative commercial products. Additionally, the Coalition congratulates New Dem members, Representative Smith and Representative Kosmas for their work on important amendments that will expand access to these programs for small businesses."

The New Democrat Coalition is comprised of members committed to enacting policies that empower the U.S. to grow economically, maintain its competitiveness in the global marketplace, continue to be the world's leaders in innovation and technological advancement, and strengthen our economic and national security. The Coalition is dedicated to providing the leadership necessary to implement policies that will ensure that America maintains its prosperity and global leadership.

Statement supported by New Democrat Coalition Competitiveness Task Force Co-Chairs Representative Ron Kind (WI-03) and Representative Rush Holt (NJ-12) along with the Coalition Leadership including Representative Joseph Crowley (NY-07), Representative Ron Kind (WI-03), Representative Melissa Bean (IL-08), and Representative Allyson Schwartz (PA-13).

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top