Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

House Republicans Elect New Leadership Team

Press Release

Location: Washington, DC

House Republican Leader John Boehner (R-OH) announced the new leadership team elected by House Republicans today. During House Republican Conference organizational meetings for the 111th Congress, Boehner was re-elected by his colleagues for the post of Republican Leader of the U.S. House of Representatives. He issued the following statement:

"The months ahead will present Republicans with an unprecedented opportunity to renew our drive for smaller, more accountable government and offer positive solutions to the challenges facing the American people. We have to seize this opportunity, and seize it together. I'm deeply honored my colleagues have placed their faith in me and the newly-elected members of our team to lead this effort.

"House Republicans will rebuild our majority coalition by winning the issues that Americans care about most, one issue at a time. We demonstrated our ability to do this last summer when we stood with the American people for more American energy and lower gas prices, and won the issue. President-elect Obama has expressed a desire to govern from the center. At times, his party will make it difficult for him to do this. When he extends his hand in good faith to put the needs of the country first, Republicans will extend ours in return.

"I'd like to thank Dan Lungren for his commitment to the principles of reform that have defined our party since the beginning. Dan worked tirelessly for years in helping to shape a majority coalition that produced important reforms on behalf of all Americans, and I look forward to working with him in rebuilding it once again.

"I also want to thank the outgoing members of our leadership team - Roy Blunt, Adam Putnam, Kay Granger, and Tom Cole. House Republicans look forward to their continued service in the years to come."

New Republican Leadership Team. Today, House Republicans elected the following leaders for the 111th Congress:

* Republican Leader: Rep. John Boehner (R-OH)
* Republican Whip: Rep. Eric Cantor (R-VA)
* Conference Chairman: Rep. Mike Pence (R-IN)
* Policy Committee Chairman: Rep. Thaddeus McCotter (R-MI)
* Conference Vice-Chair: Rep. Cathy McMorris Rodgers (R-WA)
* Conference Secretary: Rep. John Carter (R-TX)
* NRCC Chairman: Rep. Pete Sessions (R-TX)

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top