Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Congresswoman Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Selected as the Florida SBDC Network's 2008 Small Business Dividends Award Winner

Press Release

Location: Pensacola, FL

"The Florida Small Business Development Center Network (FSBDCN) is proud to announce the selection of Congresswoman Ileana Ros-Lehtinen as the 2008 Small Business Dividend$ Award winner," says Jerry Cartwright, FSBDCN State Director.

Serving the 18th Congressional District since 1989, Congresswoman Ros-Lehtinen has been a long-time champion of small business as evidenced by her outstanding support for legislation that ensures small businesses continue to be the engine of economic growth. Her pro-business votes have supported legislation to eliminate taxes targeting small and family-owned businesses; reduce regulations that are harmful to small businesses; open new markets for U.S. businesses through free trade agreements; and provide funding increases to SBDCs for initiatives such as innovation and energy efficiency opportunities; and much more. In this Congressional session, alone, Congresswoman Ros-Lehtinen co-sponsored the Permanent Internet Tax Freedom Act, the Withholding Tax Relief Act and the Death Tax Repeal Act, all of which are vital concerns to small businesses.

"I am honored to receive this award for 2008," said Congresswoman Ros-Lehtinen.
"Having been raised in a small business family, I truly understand how important small businesses are to the well-being of our economy at all levels. I want to take this opportunity to also recognize the great work of the Florida Small Business Development Center Network, and the support it provides for promoting small businesses and economic growth in Florida ."

FSBDCN staff used 19 specific small business issue votes to determine the 2008 Dividend$ winner and her voting record was 90% positive. Congresswoman Ros-Lehtinen's legislative sponsorship, advocacy support and votes are truly significant. Her many accomplishments that encourage the success of entrepreneurs and small business have been recognized by bi-partisan independent groups including the National Federation of Independent Business with its Guardian of Small Business Award and the U.S. Chamber of Commerce with its prestigious Spirit of Enterprise Award.

The Dividend$ Award will be presented to Congresswoman Ros-Lehtinen at a special event in Miami , Florida .

The FSBDCN implemented the annual Dividend$ Award to acknowledge a Floridian whose service to the state has included strong support of small business issues. Past Dividend$ award winners include: John Mica 2007, Bill Nelson 2006, Ander Crenshaw 2004, Bob Graham 2003, Bill Young 2002, Connie Mack 2001 and Andy Ireland 2000.

The FSBDCN, funded in part by the US SBA, is a statewide economic development partnership between higher education and other stakeholder organizations dedicated to providing entrepreneurs and established businesses with the assistance needed to start, grow and succeed, contributing to the Florida economy. For more information about the FSBDCN, visit

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top