Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Submitted Resolutions

Floor Speech

Location: Washington, DC

SUBMITTED RESOLUTIONS -- (Senate - June 19, 2008)


Mr. KERRY (for himself, Mr. KENNEDY, Mr. REED, Mr. LIEBERMAN, Mr. DODD, Mr. SUNUNU, Mr. LEAHY, Mr. WHITEHOUSE, and Mr. GREGG) submitted the following resolution; which was referred to the Committee on the Judiciary:

Whereas on June 17, 2008, the Boston Celtics won the 2008 National Basketball Association Championship (referred to in this preamble as the ``2008 Championship'') in 6 games over the Los Angeles Lakers;

Whereas the 2008 Championship was the 17th world championship won by the Celtics, the most in the history of the National Basketball Association (referred to in this preamble as the ``NBA'');

Whereas the 2008 Championship marked the culmination of the greatest single season turnaround in the history of the NBA, as the Celtics improved from a record of 24-58 during the 2007-2008 season to a league-best 66-16 mark during the 2007-2008 campaign;

Whereas the 2008 Celtics NBA Championship team, like all great Celtics champions of the past, epitomized team work, selflessness, character, effort, camaraderie, toughness, and determination;

Whereas the 2008 Celtics honored the rich legacy of their franchise, which was--

(1) established by a legion of all-time greats, including Bill Russell, Larry Bird, John Havlicek, Bob Cousy, Tom Heinsohn, K.C. Jones, Sam Jones, Jo Jo White, Dave Cowens, Kevin McHale, Robert Parish, Dennis Johnson, and Tom ``Satch'' Sanders; and

(2) masterminded by one of the legendary coaches of all sports, Arnold ``red'' Auerbach;

Whereas Celtics managing partner Wyc Grousbeck and the entire Celtics ownership group never wavered from paying the price to raise ``Banner #17'' to the Garden rafters;

Whereas the 2008 Celtics were brought together by a former Celtics player, Danny Ainge, whose off-season acquisitions of NBA All-Stars Kevin Garnett and Ray Allen earned him the 2008 NBA Executive of the Year Award;

Whereas the Celtics were led by Doc Rivers, who--

(1) oversaw the smooth integration of new superstars and untested young players into the Celtics lineup; and

(2) assembled, and ensured the execution of, a masterful NBA Finals game plan;

Whereas the Celtics featured a 21st Century ``Big Three'' comprised of Paul Pierce, Kevin Garnett, and Ray Allen, 3 veteran players who worked together and never allowed their personal ambition or pursuit of individual statistics to interfere with the goal of the team to win a championship;

Whereas a group of talented young players contributed pivotal roles in the march of the Celtics to the 2008 Championship, including point guard Rajon Rondo, center Kendrick Perkins, forward Leon Powe, guard Tony Allen, and forward Glen ``Big Baby'' Davis;

Whereas the valuable bench of the Celtics was stocked with veteran role players who made significant contributions during the season, including forward James Posey, guard Eddie House, guard Sam Cassell, forward P.J. Brown, forward Brian Scalabrine, and center Scott Pollard;

Whereas the 2008 Celtics team demonstrated remarkable poise and gained invaluable playoff experience in defeating the Atlanta Hawks, the Cleveland Cavaliers, and the Detroit Pistons in hard-fought series during which every possession counted at both the offensive and defensive ends of the floor;

Whereas, after 26 playoff games, the Celtics ultimately secured the 17th NBA Championship of the franchise in one of the most dominating performances in NBA history, a 39-point rout of the Lakers in front of a raucous Garden crowd; and

Whereas the Celtics fans in the State of Massachusetts, in New England, and throughout the world never gave up hope that the franchise would someday return to glory and give a new generation of Celtics fans the opportunity to celebrate a championship: Now, therefore, be it

Resolved, That the Senate--

(1) congratulates--

(A) the Boston Celtics for winning the 2008 National Basketball Association Championship, including the players, head coach, coaches, support staff, and team owners and executives whose ability, hard work, dedication, and spirit made the season possible; and

(B) the Los Angeles Lakers for their success during the 2008 season and winning the National Basketball Association Western Conference Championship; and

(2) directs the Enrolling Clerk of the Senate to transmit an enrolled copy of this resolution to--

(A) the 2008 Boston Celtics team;

(B) Celtics head coach Doc Rivers;

(C) Celtics general manager Danny Ainge; and

(D) Celtics managing partner Wyc Grousbeck.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top