Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Lincoln, Pryor Announce Committee Passage of Central High Resolution

Press Release

Location: Washington, DC

Lincoln, Pryor Announce Committee Passage of Central High Resolution

U.S. Senators Blanche Lincoln and Mark Pryor (D-Ark.) today announced that the Senate Judiciary Committee has approved their resolution recognizing the 50th anniversary of the desegregation of Little Rock Central High School. The resolution now moves to the Senate floor for consideration by the full Senate. Arkansas's U.S. Senators pledged to have final action on the legislation by the 50th anniversary on September 25, 2007.

"In less than three weeks, Little Rock will welcome the nation and the world back to Central High School to commemorate the brave actions of those nine students who faced tremendous adversity and exhibited great courage," Lincoln said. "Their first steps into Central fifty years ago have been heralded as one of the most significant victories for equality in this country, and I am proud that this resolution can add to their distinguished recognition as important figures in our country's civil rights movement."

"I'm very pleased this important piece of legislation is one step closer to completion," said Pryor. "The extraordinary contributions of the Little Rock Nine are a lasting source of inspiration and a reminder of what can be done in the face of adversity and injustice. As a former Central High student, I know their impact still resonates within the classrooms and in the hearts of students and teachers."

The resolution introduced by Lincoln and Pryor recognizes the extraordinary bravery and courage of the Little Rock Nine who helped expand opportunity and equality in public education in Arkansas and throughout the country by becoming the first African-American students at Central High School. The resolution encourages all Americans to reflect on the importance of the anniversary and to continue to work to ensure that all of America's children have access to an equal opportunity in education.

Lincoln and Pryor also noted that 16 Senators have cosponsored their resolution. The bipartisan group of Senators includes Judiciary Committee Chairman Patrick Leahy (D-Vt.) and Ranking Member Arlen Specter (R-Pa.), as well as Charles Schumer (D-N.Y.), Bob Menendez (D-N.J.), Barbara Boxer (D-Calif.), Debbie Stabenow (D-Mich.), Chris Dodd (D-Conn.), Ken Salazar (D-Colo.), Richard Durbin (D-Ill.), Barack Obama (D-Ill.), Joseph Biden (D-Del.), Edward Kennedy (D-Mass.), Tom Carper (D-Del.), John Kerry (D-Mass.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), and Saxby Chambliss (R-Ga.).

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top