Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Kansas Communities Receive Federal Funds to Support Business Recovery

Press Release

Location: Washington, DC

U.S. Secretary of Commerce Wilbur Ross announced Wednesday $3 million in CARES Act Recovery Assistance grants from the U.S. Department of Commerce's Economic Development Administration to three regions of Kansas impacted by the COVID-19 pandemic.

"As I travel the state, many community leaders continue to emphasize the need for support for our businesses to ensure they survive the ongoing impacts of the pandemic and keep Kansans on the job and our Main Streets alive," said U.S. Congressman Roger Marshall, M.D. "Through the CARES Act, President Trump and this administration continue to prioritize and support our business owners, ensuring jobs remain in our communities and our economy continues its regrowth."

The funding from the grants will be used to administer three different Revolving Loan Funds that will provide important gap financing to small businesses and entrepreneurs across Kansas impacted by COVID-19.

The EDA grants made to Kansas include:

South Central Kansas Economic Development District, Inc. Wichita, will receive a $1.9 million EDA CARES Act Recovery Assistance grant to provide gap financing to small business owners by capitalizing and administering a RLF to service coronavirus impacted businesses in Butler, Chautauqua, Cowley, Elk, Harper, Harvey, Greenwood, Kingman, Marion, McPherson, Rice, Reno, Sedgwick, and Sumner counties
Southeast Kansas Regional Planning Commission, Chanute, will receive a $572,000 EDA CARES Act Recovery Assistance grant to expand the body of work and the financing the businesses of the Southeast Kansas region requires to respond to the coronavirus pandemic by capitalizing and administering a RLF to service impacted businesses in Allen, Anderson, Bourbon, Cherokee, Coffey, Crawford, Labette, Linn, Montgomery, Neosho, Wilson, and Woodson counties
Northwest Kansas Regional Planning Commission, Hill City, will receive a $500,000 Revolving Loan Fund to lend to borrowers in the following counties: Cheyenne, Decatur, Rawlins, Norton, Phillips, Smith, Osborne, Rooks, Graham, Sheridan, Thomas, Sherman, Wallace, Logan, Gove, Trego, Ellis, and Russell counties

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top