Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Engel Announces Democratic Foreign Affairs Committee Members and First Hearing Topic

Press Release

Location: Washington, DC

Representative Eliot L. Engel, Chairman of the House Committee on Foreign Affairs, today made the following statement:

"I'm delighted by the 25 incredible lawmakers who will join me in making up the majority side of the Foreign Affairs Committee in the 116th Congress. This dynamic and diverse group will bring to the Committee new ideas, lively debate, and a shared commitment to advancing America's interests and values around the world. I look forward to getting organized and getting to work.

"We face so many pressing issues around the world, and I intend for the Committee to grapple with the toughest problems. In recent months, there's been no issue under greater scrutiny than American policy dealing with the countries and conflicts on the Arabian peninsula. Accordingly, the Foreign Affairs Committee's first hearing will focus on this region. A formal announcement will follow after the Committee has organized."

Chairman Engel also announced the following Foreign Affairs subcommittees for the 116th Congress:

Africa, Global Health, Global Human Rights, and International Organizations
Asia, the Pacific, and Nonproliferation
Europe, Eurasia, Energy, and the Environment
Middle East, North Africa, and International Terrorism
Oversight and Investigations
Western Hemisphere, Civilian Security, and Trade
The following are the Democratic Members of the Foreign Affairs Committee for the 116th Congress:

Rep. Eliot L. Engel (NY-16), Chairman
Rep. Brad Sherman (CA-30)
Rep. Gregory W. Meeks (NY-5)
Rep. Albio Sires (NJ-8)
Rep. Gerald E. Connolly (VA-11)
Rep. Ted Deutch (FL-22)
Rep. Karen Bass (CA-37)
Rep. Bill Keating (MA-9)
Rep. David N. Cicilline (RI-1)
Rep. Ami Bera (CA-7)
Rep. Joaquín Castro (TX-20)
Rep. Dina Titus (NV-1)
Rep. Adriano Espaillat (NY-13)
Rep. Ted W. Lieu (CA-33)
Rep. Susan Wild (PA-7)
Rep. Dean Phillips (MN-3)
Rep. Ilhan Omar (MN-5)
Rep. Colin Allred (TX-32)
Rep. Andy Levin (MI-9)
Rep. Abigail Spanberger (VA-7)
Rep. Chrissy Houlahan (PA-6)
Rep. Tom Malinowski (NJ-7)
Rep. David Trone (MD-6)
Rep. Jim Costa (CA-16)
Rep. Juan Vargas (CA-51)
Rep. Vicente González (TX-15

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top