Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Public Statements

Sen. Cruz: Every Child Deserves Access to an Excellent Education


Location: Washington, DC

U.S. Sens. Ted Cruz (R-Texas) and Tim Scott (R-S.C.) today introduced a bipartisan resolution declaring January 20, 2019 through January 26, 2019 as "National School Choice Week.' Sen. Cruz secured the Student Opportunity Amendment as part of the historic tax reform bill passed in 2017, which expanded 529 College Savings Plans to include K-12 elementary and secondary school tuition for public, private, and religious school students, and is the most far-reaching federal school choice bill ever passed and signed into law.

"Every child in Texas deserves access to an excellent education," Sen. Cruz said. "I believe school choice is the civil rights issue of the 21st century, and no child should be denied the opportunity to access a quality education. In Texas, children from disadvantaged communities, low-income communities, and minority communities have seen a profound impact in achieving a quality education as a result of school choice. I am proud to join my colleagues in this resolution to raise awareness to this issue, and to highlight legislative opportunities to further empower students and families across the country through school choice."

"One of the most valuable gifts we can leave to our children and next generation is the love of learning and education," said Senator Scott. "A child's zip code shouldn't have any effect on his access to quality education whether it be public, private, charter, vocational, or homeschool. Fundamental pillars like independent thought and literacy can never be stolen from them. That is why it is essential that we open every avenue of opportunity for children across America to learn and succeed."

The National School Choice Week resolution is co-sponsored by Sens. Lamar Alexander (R-Tenn.), David Perdue (R-Ga.), Cory Gardner (R-Colo.), Thom Tillis (R-N.C.), John Boozman (R-Ark.), Dianne Feinstein (D-Calif.), Cindy Hyde-Smith (R-Miss.), Pat Roberts (R-Kan.), Jim Inhofe (R-Oka.), Richard Burr (R-N.C.), Marco Rubio (R-Fla.), John Cornyn (R-Texas), Tom Cotton (R-Ark.), Todd Young (R-Ind.), Pat Toomey (R-Pa.), Lindsey Graham (R-S.C.), Rand Paul (R-Ky.), Roger Wicker (R-Miss.), Johnny Isakson (R-Ga.), Ron Johnson (R-Wis.), Steve Daines (R-Mont.), Bill Cassidy (R-La.), Mike Enzi (R-Wyo.), Marsha Blackburn (R-Tenn.), James Lankford (R-Oka.), Kevin Cramer (R-N.D.), Mitt Romney (R-Utah), and Mike Braun (R-Ind.).

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top