Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Rifle Association Political Victory Fund

1998 Positions on Gun Rights

Issues: Guns
State Office District Name Party Rating
Ronald Nichols F
Eliot Glassheim C-
Myron Koppang C-
Curtis Brekke C
April Fairfield C
Kathy Hawken C
Gil Herbel C
ND State House 15 Dennis Johnson Republican C
ND State Senate 21 Carolyn Nelson Democratic-NPL C
Eugene Nicholas C+
ND State House 43 Lois Delmore Democratic-NPL B-
ND Commissioner At-Large Merle Boucher B
G. Jane Gunter B
C.B. Haas B
Matthew Klein B
Edroy Kringstad B
ND State Senate 13 Judy Lee Republican B
ND State House 3 Andrew Maragos Republican B
Stacey Mickelson B
Clara Sue Price B
Dennis Renner B
Gerald Orlando Sveen B
Laurel Thoreson B
Steven Tomac B
John Warner B
Bette Grande B+
ND State House 47 George Keiser Republican B+
RaeAnn Kelsch B+
Shirley Meyer B+
ND State House 29 Chet Pollert Republican B+
Earl Rennerfeldt B+
Wanda Rose B+
ND State Senate 39 Bill Bowman Republican A-
Rex Byerly A-
ND State House 23 Bill Devlin Republican A-
David Drovdal A-
Tim Flakoll A-
Glen Froseth A-
Tony Grindberg A-
Joel Curtis Heitkamp A-
ND State Senate 17 Ray Holmberg Republican A-
Robert Huether A-
Duane Mutch A-
ND State House 34 Todd Porter Republican A-
Ben Tollefson A-
ND State Senate 37 Rich Wardner Republican A-
Amy N Kliniske Warnke A-
Darlene Watne A-
ND State House 28 Michael Don Brandenburg Republican A
Jack Dalrymple A
Duane Lee DeKrey A
ND State House 8 Jeff Delzer Republican A
Pat Galvin A
Pam Gulleson A
Aaron Krauter A
Joe Kroeber A
ND State House 14 Jon Nelson Republican A
ND State House 40 Randy Schobinger Republican A
Kenneth Solberg A
Rod St. Aubyn A
Elwood Thorpe A
John Traynor A
ND State Senate 29 Terry Wanzek Republican A
ND State House 14 Robin Weisz Republican A
Ole Aarsvold A+
Wesley Belter A+
Rick Berg A+
LeRoy Bernstein A+
Thomas Brusegaard A+
ND State House 41 Al Carlson Republican A+
John Dorso A+
William Gorder A+
Albert Grosz A+
Lyle Hanson A+
Dale Henegar A+
ND State House 39 Keith Kempenich Republican A+
James Kerzman A+
Ed Lloyd A+
John Mahoney A+
ND State House 10 David Monson Republican A+
Darrell Nottestad A+
James Alan Poolman A+
Sally Sandvig A+
Arlo Schmidt A+
Ken Svedjan A+
Russell Thane A+
Mike Timm A+
Janet Wentz A+
James Boehm A++
Ron Carlisle A++
Randel Christmann A++
ND State House 13 Kim Koppelman Republican A++
Francis Wald A++

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top