Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Rifle Association Political Victory Fund

1998 Positions on Gun Rights

Issues: Guns
State Office District Name Party Rating
ND State House 3 Andrew Maragos Republican B
ND State House 8 Jeff Delzer Republican A
ND State House 10 David Monson Republican A+
ND State House 13 Kim Koppelman Republican A++
ND State Senate 13 Judy Lee Republican B
ND State House 14 Jon Nelson Republican A
ND State House 14 Robin Weisz Republican A
ND State House 15 Dennis Johnson Republican C
ND State Senate 17 Ray Holmberg Republican A-
ND State Senate 21 Carolyn Nelson Democratic-NPL C
ND State House 23 Bill Devlin Republican A-
ND State House 28 Michael Don Brandenburg Republican A
ND State House 29 Chet Pollert Republican B+
ND State Senate 29 Terry Wanzek Republican A
ND State House 34 Todd Porter Republican A-
ND State Senate 37 Rich Wardner Republican A-
ND State Senate 39 Bill Bowman Republican A-
ND State House 39 Keith Kempenich Republican A+
ND State House 40 Randy Schobinger Republican A
ND State House 41 Al Carlson Republican A+
ND State House 43 Lois Delmore Democratic-NPL B-
ND State House 47 George Keiser Republican B+
ND Commissioner At-Large Merle Boucher B
Ole Aarsvold A+
Wesley Belter A+
Rick Berg A+
LeRoy Bernstein A+
James Boehm A++
Curtis Brekke C
Thomas Brusegaard A+
Rex Byerly A-
Ron Carlisle A++
Randel Christmann A++
Jack Dalrymple A
Duane Lee DeKrey A
John Dorso A+
David Drovdal A-
April Fairfield C
Tim Flakoll A-
Glen Froseth A-
Pat Galvin A
Eliot Glassheim C-
William Gorder A+
Bette Grande B+
Tony Grindberg A-
Albert Grosz A+
Pam Gulleson A
G. Jane Gunter B
C.B. Haas B
Lyle Hanson A+
Kathy Hawken C
Joel Curtis Heitkamp A-
Dale Henegar A+
Gil Herbel C
Robert Huether A-
RaeAnn Kelsch B+
James Kerzman A+
Matthew Klein B
Myron Koppang C-
Aaron Krauter A
Edroy Kringstad B
Joe Kroeber A
Ed Lloyd A+
John Mahoney A+
Shirley Meyer B+
Stacey Mickelson B
Duane Mutch A-
Eugene Nicholas C+
Ronald Nichols F
Darrell Nottestad A+
James Alan Poolman A+
Clara Sue Price B
Dennis Renner B
Earl Rennerfeldt B+
Wanda Rose B+
Sally Sandvig A+
Arlo Schmidt A+
Kenneth Solberg A
Rod St. Aubyn A
Ken Svedjan A+
Gerald Orlando Sveen B
Russell Thane A+
Laurel Thoreson B
Elwood Thorpe A
Mike Timm A+
Ben Tollefson A-
Steven Tomac B
John Traynor A
Francis Wald A++
John Warner B
Amy N Kliniske Warnke A-
Darlene Watne A-
Janet Wentz A+

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top