Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Voices for Utah Children

2002 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
UT State House 13 Paul Ray Republican 56%
UT State House 36 Patrice Arent Democratic 80%
UT State House 38 Eric Hutchings Republican 67%
UT State Senate 3 Gene Davis Democratic 50%
UT State Senate 6 Wayne Harper Republican 22%
UT State Senate 11 Howard Stephenson Republican 38%
UT State Senate 15 Margaret Dayton Republican 10%
UT State Senate 16 Curt Bramble Republican 38%
UT State Senate 17 Peter Knudson Republican 50%
UT State Senate 25 Lyle Hillyard Republican 50%
UT Chairman of the Tax Commission John Valentine 57%
UT Mayor At-Large Ron Bigelow 20%
UT Mayor Jackie Biskupski Democratic 80%
UT Council Member At-Large David Ure 17%
UT Council Member North Craig Buttars Republican 20%
Doug Aagard 30%
Gerry Adair 40%
Jeff Alexander 33%
D. Edgar Allen 43%
Ron Allen 71%
Sheryl Allen 50%
Eli Anderson 40%
Roger Barrus 40%
Trisha Beck 80%
Ralph Becker 75%
Chad Bennion 13%
Cynthia Beshear 80%
Leonard Blackham 29%
Duane Bourdeaux 83%
DeMar Bowman 50%
Afton Bradshaw 80%
Katherine Bryson 10%
Judy Ann Buffmire 80%
Don Bush 20%
D. Chris Buttars 50%
David Clark 30%
Stephen Clark 33%
David Cox 50%
Greg Curtis 22%
Scott Daniels 90%
Marda Dillree 44%
Mike Dmitrich 29%
Glenn Donnelson, Jr. 20%
Carl Duckworth 40%
Dan Eastman 57%
Beverly Ann Evans 43%
James Ferrin 22%
Ben Ferry 33%
Fred Fife III 60%
Kevin Garn 25%
David Gladwell 38%
Brent Goodfellow 78%
James Gowans 20%
Karen Hale 100%
Neil Hansen 60%
Thomas Hatch 22%
Parley Hellewell 50%
Neal Hendrickson 44%
John Hickman 50%
Dave Hogue 50%
Kory Holdaway 44%
Scott Jenkins 38%
Bradley Johnson 30%
Patricia Jones 80%
Paula Julander 88%
Brad King 70%
David Litvack 90%
Becky Lockhart 10%
L. Alma Mansell 38%
Steven Mascaro 50%
Ed Mayne 50%
Ty McCartney 80%
Karen Morgan 56%
Joseph Murray 30%
Merlynn Newbold 40%
Loraine Pace 30%
Brent Parker 50%
Darin Peterson 30%
Millie Peterson 71%
Morgan Philpot 13%
L. Steven Poulton 50%
Carl Saunders 40%
Jack Seitz 44%
LaWanna Shurtliff 70%
Richard Siddoway 50%
Gordon Snow 30%
Carol Spackman Moss 90%
Terry Spencer 38%
David Steele 50%
Martin Stephens 33%
Michael Styler 50%
Alicia L Suazo 75%
John Swallow 11%
Michael Thompson 22%
J. Matthew Throckmorton 20%
A. Lamont Tyler 44%
Stephen Urquhart 40%
Michael Waddoups 38%
Carlene Walker 50%
Margaret Ann Wallace 50%
Glenn Way 14%
Bradley Winn 30%
Bill Wright 43%
Max Young 67%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top