Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Alliance for Retired Americans

2011 Lifetime Score

State Office District Name Party Rating
OR U.S. House 5 Kurt Schrader Democratic 93%
PA U.S. Senate Sr Bob Casey, Jr. Democratic 98%
PA U.S. Senate Jr Pat Toomey Republican 0%
PA U.S. House 15 GT Thompson, Jr. Republican 3%
PA U.S. House 16 Mike Kelly, Jr. Republican 0%
PA U.S. House 18 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 100%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 99%
RI U.S. Senate Jr Sheldon Whitehouse Democratic 98%
RI U.S. House 1 David Cicilline Democratic 100%
RI U.S. House 2 Jim Langevin Democratic 100%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 8%
SC U.S. Senate Jr Tim Scott Republican 0%
SC U.S. House 2 Joe Wilson, Sr. Republican 6%
SC U.S. House 3 Jeff Duncan Republican 0%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 98%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 13%
SD Governor Kristi Noem Republican 0%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 6%
TN U.S. Senate Jr Marsha Blackburn Republican 3%
TN U.S. House 1 Phil Roe Republican 3%
TN U.S. House 3 Chuck Fleischmann Republican 0%
TN U.S. House 4 Scott DesJarlais Republican 10%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 84%
TN U.S. House 9 Steve Cohen Democratic 100%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 7%
TX U.S. House 1 Louie Gohmert Republican 11%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 6%
TX U.S. House 9 Al Green Democratic 100%
TX U.S. House 10 Michael McCaul Republican 10%
TX U.S. House 11 Mike Conaway Republican 3%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 7%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 5%
TX U.S. House 17 Bill Flores Republican 0%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 100%
TX U.S. House 22 Pete Olson Republican 3%
TX U.S. House 24 Kenny Marchant Republican 6%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 13%
TX U.S. House 28 Henry Cuellar Democratic 87%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 98%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 3%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 98%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Mike Lee Republican 20%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 4%
VA U.S. Senate Sr Mark Warner Democratic 88%
VA U.S. House 1 Rob Wittman Republican 20%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 99%
VA U.S. House 9 Morgan Griffith Republican 11%
VA U.S. House 11 Gerry Connolly Democratic 97%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 98%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 100%
VT U.S. House At-Large Peter Welch Democratic 96%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 96%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 96%
WA U.S. House 2 Rick Larsen Democratic 92%
WA U.S. House 3 Jaime Herrera Beutler Republican 0%
WA U.S. House 5 Cathy Rodgers Republican 14%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 88%
WA Governor Jay Inslee Democratic 96%
WI U.S. Senate Sr Ron Johnson Republican 0%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 100%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 93%
WI U.S. House 4 Gwen Moore Democratic 100%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 6%
WI U.S. House 7 Sean Duffy Republican 0%
WV U.S. Senate Jr Shelley Capito Republican 20%
WV U.S. House 1 David McKinley Republican 10%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 3%
WY U.S. Senate Jr John Barrasso Republican 7%
Gary Ackerman 100%
Sandy Adams 0%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 97%
Todd Akin 3%
Rodney Alexander 15%
Jason Altmire 83%
Rob Andrews 96%
Steve Austria 7%
Kelly Ayotte 0%
Joe Baca, Sr. 99%
Michele Bachmann 15%
Spencer Bachus 9%
Lou Barletta 0%
John Barrow 78%
Roscoe Bartlett 10%
Joe Barton 5%
Charlie Bass 9%
Max Baucus 78%
Mark Begich 97%
Dan Benishek 0%
Rick Berg 0%
Shelley Berkley 96%
Howard Berman 99%
Judy Biggert 11%
Brian Bilbray 13%
Jeff Bingaman 97%
Tim Bishop 100%
Diane Black 0%
John Boehner 1%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 12%
Mary Bono Mack 13%
Dan Boren 66%
Charles Boustany, Jr. 9%
Barbara Boxer 98%
Bob Brady 99%
Bruce Braley 100%
Paul Broun 5%
Corrine Brown 100%
Scott Brown 21%
Ann Marie Buerkle 0%
Dan Burton 9%
Dave Camp 7%
John Campbell III 93%
Quico Canseco 10%
Eric Cantor 2%
Lois Capps 98%
Mike Capuano 100%
Dennis Cardoza 92%
Russ Carnahan 100%
Jason Chaffetz 0%
Saxby Chambliss 7%
Ben Chandler III 90%
Hansen Clarke 100%
Dan Coats 10%
Howard Coble 14%
Thomas Coburn 9%
Thad Cochran 9%
Michael Coffman 3%
Kent Conrad 93%
John Conyers, Jr. 100%
Robert Corker 16%
Jerry Costello 92%
Chip Cravaack 0%
Ander Crenshaw 6%
Mark Critz 100%
Joe Crowley 97%
John Culberson 9%
Geoff Davis 9%
James DeMint 11%
Jeff Denham 0%
Charlie Dent 26%
Norm Dicks 99%
John Dingell 97%
Bob Dold 0%
Joe Donnelly, Sr. 88%
David Dreier 8%
John Duncan, Jr. 7%
Donna Edwards 100%
Renee Ellmers 0%
Jo Ann Emerson 26%
Blake Farenthold 0%
Sam Farr 94%
Chaka Fattah, Sr. 100%
Bob Filner 98%
Stephen Fincher 0%
Mike Fitzpatrick 13%
Jeff Flake 7%
John Fleming, Jr. 4%
Randy Forbes 11%
Barney Frank 100%
Al Franken 96%
Trent Franks 3%
Rodney Frelinghuysen 7%
Elton Gallegly 9%
Scott Garrett 6%
Jim Gerlach 31%
Chris Gibson 10%
Gabrielle Giffords 93%
Phil Gingrey 7%
Charlie Gonzalez 98%
Bob Goodlatte 9%
Trey Gowdy III 0%
Gene Green 100%
Michael Grimm 0%
Frank Guinta 0%
Luis Gutiérrez 100%
Kay Hagan 87%
Ralph Hall 16%
Colleen Hanabusa 100%
Richard Hanna 0%
Tom Harkin 99%
Gregg Harper 7%
Doc Hastings 7%
Orrin Hatch 4%
Nan Hayworth 0%
Joe Heck, Jr. 0%
Dean Heller 13%
Jeb Hensarling 2%
Wally Herger, Jr. 0%
Maurice Hinchey 100%
Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. 93%
Tim Holden 94%
Rush Holt, Jr. 95%
Mike Honda 97%
Robert Hurt 0%
Daniel Inouye 97%
Steve Israel 92%
Darrell Issa 4%
Jesse Jackson, Jr. 100%
Mike Johanns 3%
Sam Johnson 2%
Timothy Johnson 96%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top