Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Virginia AFL-CIO

2004 Lifetime Score

Issues: Labor Unions
State Office District Name Party Rating
VA U.S. House 9 Morgan Griffith Republican 40%
VA State House 1 Terry Kilgore Republican 72%
VA State House 13 Bob Marshall Republican 44%
VA State House 14 Danny Marshall III Republican 17%
VA State House 22 Kathy Byron Republican 12%
VA State House 24 Benjamin Cline Republican 0%
VA State House 25 Steve Landes Republican 9%
VA State House 28 William Howell Republican 28%
VA State House 31 Scott Lingamfelter Republican 17%
VA State House 36 Ken Plum Democratic 91%
VA State House 39 Vivian Watts Democratic 95%
VA State House 40 Tim Hugo Republican 25%
VA State House 42 David Albo Republican 31%
VA State House 43 Mark Sickles Democratic 100%
VA State House 54 Bobby Orrock, Sr. Republican 45%
VA State House 58 Robert Bell III Republican 17%
VA State House 61 Thomas Wright, Jr. Republican 11%
VA State House 62 Riley Ingram Republican 45%
VA State House 65 Lee Ware, Jr. Republican 6%
VA State House 66 Kirk Cox Republican 28%
VA State House 73 John O'Bannon III Republican 33%
VA State House 76 Chris Jones Republican 12%
VA State House 88 Mark Cole Republican 0%
VA State House 92 Jeion Ward Democratic 100%
VA State Senate 2 Mamie Locke Democratic 100%
VA State Senate 3 Thomas Norment, Jr. Republican 22%
VA State Senate 4 Ryan McDougle Republican 17%
VA State Senate 6 Lynwood Lewis, Jr. Democratic 100%
VA State Senate 7 Lionell Spruill, Sr. Democratic 100%
VA State Senate 7 Frank Wagner Republican 33%
VA State Senate 13 Richard Hayden Black Republican 13%
VA State Senate 14 John Cosgrove, Jr. Republican 33%
VA State Senate 15 Frank Ruff, Jr. Republican 32%
VA State Senate 18 Louise Lucas Democratic 91%
VA State Senate 21 John Edwards Democratic 100%
VA State Senate 23 Stephen Newman Republican 13%
VA State Senate 24 Emmett Hanger, Jr. Republican 13%
VA State Senate 25 Creigh Deeds Democratic 93%
VA State Senate 26 Mark Obenshain Republican 0%
VA State Senate 30 Adam Ebbin Democratic 100%
VA State Senate 32 Janet Howell Democratic 89%
VA State Senate 34 Chap Petersen Democratic 100%
VA State Senate 35 Dick Saslaw Democratic 85%
VA State Senate 40 Charles Carrico, Sr. Republican 50%
VA Justice of the Supreme Court Bill Mims 22%
VA Mayor At-Large Kenny Alexander Democratic 100%
VA Mayor At-Large Dwight Jones 100%
VA Supervisor At-Large Floyd Miles, Sr. 100%
VA State Board of Education James Dillard II 65%
Watkins Abbitt, Jr. 66%
Kristen Amundson 100%
Ward Armstrong 93%
Clifford Athey, Jr. 17%
Mamye BaCote 100%
William Barlow 79%
Viola Osborne Baskerville 100%
J. Brandon Bell II 0%
Harry Blevins 41%
Bill Bolling 6%
Robert Brink 100%
L. Bryant, Jr. 36%
Vince Callahan, Jr. 54%
John Chichester 31%
Charles Colgan, Sr. 79%
J. Paul Councill, Jr. 59%
Ken Cuccinelli II 0%
Jeannemarie Devolites Davis 39%
Allen Wayne Dudley 17%
Albert Eisenberg 100%
William Fralin, Jr. 100%
Jeffrey Frederick 0%
Thomas Gear 33%
Franklin Hall 84%
Phillip Hamilton 47%
Frank Hargrove, Sr. 41%
Charles Hawkins 29%
Clarke Hogan 33%
Edd Houck 87%
Algie Howell, Jr. 100%
Robert Hull 97%
Robert Hurt 33%
Bill Janis 33%
Johnny Joannou 100%
Joseph Johnson, Jr. 89%
W.B. Keister 100%
Benjamin Joseph Lambert III 92%
Allen Louderback 17%
Bradley Marrs 17%
Henry Marsh III 94%
Stephen Martin 19%
Joe May 34%
Bob McDonnell 26%
Michéle McQuigg 41%
Kenneth Melvin 93%
Yvonne Miller 95%
Brian Moran 95%
Harvey Morgan 22%
Samuel Nixon, Jr. 19%
Dave Nutter 33%
James O'Brien, Jr. 26%
Glenn Oder 17%
Harry Parrish 33%
Clarence Phillips 96%
Albert Pollard, Jr. 75%
Harry Potts, Jr. 50%
Phillip Puckett 100%
Toddy Puller 88%
Bob Purkey 26%
Lacey Putney 42%
Frederick Quayle 50%
Melanie Rapp 13%
Gary Reese 50%
John Spence Reid 23%
D. Nick Rerras 20%
William Reynolds 84%
Thomas Rust 33%
Christopher Saxman 17%
Edward Scott 0%
James Scott 81%
Stephen Shannon 100%
Beverly Sherwood 19%
James Shuler 89%
Kenneth Stolle 28%
Walter Stosch 17%
Jackie Thomas Stump 96%
Terrie Suit 45%
Robert Tata 37%
Patricia Ticer 100%
Marian Amelia Van Landingham 92%
Mitchell Van Yahres 92%
William Wampler, Jr. 50%
Leo Wardrup, Jr. 3%
Onzlee Ware 100%
John Watkins 27%
Glenn Weatherholtz 9%
John Welch III 11%
Mary Margaret Whipple 88%
Martin Williams 18%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top