Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Association for the Advancement of Colored People (NAACP)

2007-2008 Positions on Civil Rights and Social Justice Issues

State Office District Name Party Rating
Neil Abercrombie 90%
Gary Ackerman 98%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 40%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 97%
Todd Akin 20%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 41%
Rodney Alexander 45%
Jason Altmire 85%
Rob Andrews 95%
Michael Arcuri 95%
Joe Baca, Sr. 93%
Michele Bachmann 18%
Spencer Bachus 40%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 38%
Brian Baird 93%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 100%
J. Gresham Barrett 8%
John Barrow 88%
Roscoe Bartlett 25%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 33%
Max Baucus 86%
Evan Bayh 93%
Melissa Bean 90%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 100%
Bob Bennett 45%
Shelley Berkley 93%
Howard Berman 98%
Marion Berry 90%
Judy Biggert 50%
Brian Bilbray 28%
FL U.S. House 12 Gus Bilirakis Republican 43%
Jeff Bingaman 100%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 18%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 93%
Tim Bishop 95%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 25%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 95%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 23%
John Boehner 18%
Kit Bond 34%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 33%
Mary Bono Mack 48%
AR U.S. Senate Sr John Boozman Republican 40%
Dan Boren 75%
Leonard Boswell 83%
Rick Boucher 90%
Charles Boustany, Jr. 48%
Barbara Boxer 97%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 88%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 23%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 90%
Bruce Braley 93%
Corrine Brown 95%
Henry Brown, Jr. 35%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 100%
Ginny Brown-Waite 33%
FL U.S. House 16 Vern Buchanan Republican 50%
Jim Bunning 17%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 30%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 28%
Dan Burton 23%
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic 98%
Steve Buyer 30%
Robert Byrd 80%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 33%
Dave Camp 38%
John Campbell III 18%
Eric Cantor 18%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 97%
WV U.S. Senate Jr Shelley Capito Republican 68%
Lois Capps 100%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 95%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 100%
Dennis Cardoza 88%
Russ Carnahan 98%
Christopher Carney 78%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 86%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 15%
PA U.S. Senate Sr Bob Casey, Jr. Democratic 100%
Mike Castle 73%
FL U.S. House 14 Kathy Castor Democratic 100%
Saxby Chambliss 38%
Ben Chandler III 93%
NY U.S. House 9 Yvette Clarke Democratic 100%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 100%
MO U.S. House 5 Emanuel Cleaver II Democratic 100%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 100%
Howard Coble 28%
Thomas Coburn 10%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 38%
TN U.S. House 9 Steve Cohen Democratic 90%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 38%
Norm Coleman 69%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 80%
TX U.S. House 11 Mike Conaway Republican 18%
Kent Conrad 90%
MI U.S. House 13 John Conyers, Jr. Democratic 100%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 80%
TN U.S. Senate Jr Robert Corker Republican 41%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 28%
CA U.S. House 16 Jim Costa Democratic 90%
Jerry Costello 93%
CT U.S. House 2 Joe Courtney Democratic 98%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 28%
Ander Crenshaw 35%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 98%
TX U.S. House 28 Henry Cuellar Democratic 93%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 20%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 98%
Artur Davis 88%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 100%
Geoff Davis 33%
Lincoln Davis 85%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 95%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 13%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 93%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 98%
Bill Delahunt 90%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 98%
James DeMint 0%
PA U.S. House 15 Charlie Dent Republican 63%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 63%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 63%
Norm Dicks 95%
John Dingell 95%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 98%
IN U.S. Senate Sr Joe Donnelly, Sr. Democratic 80%
Byron Dorgan 97%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle Democratic 93%
David Dreier 35%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 18%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
Chet Edwards 95%
Vern Ehlers 50%
MN U.S. House 5 Keith Ellison Democratic 98%
Brad Ellsworth 78%
IL Mayor At-Large Rahm Emanuel Democratic 95%
Jo Ann Emerson 63%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 90%
John Ensign 14%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 24%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 95%
Bob Etheridge 93%
OK Governor Mary Fallin Republican 33%
Sam Farr 98%
Chaka Fattah, Sr. 85%
Russ Feingold 100%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 93%
Bob Filner 95%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 8%
Randy Forbes 40%
NE U.S. House 1 Jeff Fortenberry Republican 43%
NC U.S. House 5 Virginia Foxx Republican 10%
Barney Frank 100%
AZ U.S. House 8 Trent Franks Republican 8%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 53%
Elton Gallegly 28%
Scott Garrett 15%
Jim Gerlach 65%
Gabrielle Giffords 88%
NY U.S. Senate Jr Kirsten Gillibrand Democratic 85%
Phil Gingrey 13%
TX U.S. House 1 Louie Gohmert Republican 28%
Charlie Gonzalez 98%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 30%
Bart Gordon 83%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 34%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 20%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 45%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 38%
TX U.S. House 9 Al Green Democratic 100%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 93%
Judd Gregg 24%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raul Grijalva Democratic 100%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutiérrez Democratic 90%
John Hall 95%
Ralph Hall 33%
Phil Hare 95%
Tom Harkin 90%
Jane Harman 93%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 95%
Doc Hastings 28%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 45%
NV U.S. Senate Sr Dean Heller Republican 38%
TX U.S. House 5 Jeb Hensarling Republican 10%
Wally Herger, Jr. 20%
Stephanie Herseth Sandlin 85%
NY U.S. House 26 Brian Higgins Democratic 95%
Maurice Hinchey 98%
Rubén Hinojosa, Sr. 88%
HI U.S. Senate Jr Mazie Hirono Democratic 100%
Paul Hodes 95%
Pete Hoekstra 25%
Thomas Holden 90%
Rush Holt, Jr. 100%
Mike Honda 100%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 100%
Bob Inglis, Sr. 28%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 3%
Daniel Inouye 93%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top