Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Michigan League of Conservation Voters

2003 Positions

Issues: Environment
State Office District Name Party Rating
MI U.S. House 2 Bill Huizenga Republican 38%
MI U.S. House 4 John Moolenaar Republican 38%
MI State Senate 3 Morris Hood III Democratic 100%
MI State Senate 6 Hoon-Yung Hopgood Democratic 88%
MI State Senate 8 Jack Brandenburg Republican 50%
MI State Senate 9 Steven Bieda Democratic 100%
MI State Senate 14 Dave Robertson Republican 25%
MI State Senate 19 Michael Nofs Republican 50%
MI State Senate 22 Joe Hune Republican 38%
MI State Senate 33 Judy Emmons Republican 38%
MI State Senate 38 Tom Casperson Republican 38%
MI Mayor At-Large Paula Zelenko 75%
MI Supervisor At-Large Philip LaJoy Republican 38%
MI Commissioner 2 Brenda Clack 100%
MI Commissioner 3 Martha Scott 71%
MI Commissioner 3 Rick Shaffer 38%
MI Commissioner 4 Bruce Caswell No Party Affiliation 25%
MI Commissioner 5 Irma Clark-Coleman 71%
MI Commissioner 12 Shelley Taub Republican 25%
MI Commissioner 13 Leon Drolet Republican 25%
MI Commissioner 14 Raymond Basham 86%
Frank Accavitti, Jr. 88%
Daniel Acciavatti 50%
Stephen Adamini 50%
Jason Allen 57%
Fran Amos 38%
Glenn Anderson 75%
James Barcia 71%
Virg Bernero 86%
Patricia Birkholz 57%
Michael Bishop 57%
Elizabeth Brater 71%
Cameron Brown 57%
Rich Brown 50%
Dianne Byrum 100%
Nancy Cassis 57%
Marsha Cheeks 100%
Deborah Cherry 86%
Hansen Clarke 71%
Paul Condino 100%
Alan Cropsey 43%
Craig DeRoche 25%
Robert Emerson 86%
David Farhat 38%
Barbara Farrah 100%
Edward Gaffney 50%
Valdemar Garcia 57%
John Garfield 25%
Tom George 57%
Judson Gilbert II 57%
Matthew Gillard 100%
John Gleason 88%
Michael Goschka 57%
Beverly Hammerstrom 57%
Bill Hardiman 57%
Jack Hoogendyk, Jr. 13%
Scott Hummel 38%
Tupac Hunter 100%
Gilda Jacobs 71%
Ron Jelinek 57%
R. Shirley Johnson 71%
Chris Kolb 88%
Jerry O. Kooiman 50%
Wayne Kuipers 43%
Kathleen Law 100%
Burton Leland 71%
Alexander Lipsey 88%
Bill McConico 100%
Michelle McManus 57%
Andy Meisner 100%
Tom Meyer 38%
Leslie Mortimer 38%
Michael Murphy 88%
Gary Newell 38%
Neal Nitz 25%
Dennis Olshove 86%
Brian Palmer 38%
David Palsrok 38%
John Pastor 50%
Bruce Patterson 57%
Jim Plakas 100%
Michael Prusi 86%
Michael Sak 100%
Alan Sanborn 43%
Mark Schauer 86%
Fulton Sheen 38%
Kenneth Sikkema 57%
Virgil Smith, Jr. 75%
Dudley Spade 50%
John Stahl 38%
John Stakoe 25%
Tony Stamas 43%
Glenn Steil, Jr. 38%
John Stewart 50%
Mickey Switalski 86%
Samuel Thomas III 86%
Steven Tobocman 88%
Laura M. Toy 57%
Aldo Vagnozzi 88%
Barb Vander Veen 38%
William VanRegenmorter 13%
Gerald Van Woerkom 57%
Howard Walker 38%
Christopher Ward 38%
Mary Waters 100%
Lorence Wenke 38%
Gretchen Whitmer 75%
Carl Williams 100%
Lisa Wojno 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top