Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: American Public Health Association

1995 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 0%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 3%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 3%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 96%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 96%
CA U.S. House 39 Ed Royce Republican 8%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 100%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 0%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 92%
CA U.S. House 48 Dana Rohrabacher Republican 4%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 97%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 92%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 13%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 100%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 96%
FL U.S. House 27 Ileana Ros-Lehtinen Republican 21%
FL Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 21%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 79%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 92%
GA Governor Nathan Deal Republican 8%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 3%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 4%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 92%
IL U.S. House 4 Luis Gutiérrez Democratic 92%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 100%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 100%
IN Council Member At-Large John Myers Republican 0%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 0%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 0%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 7%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 83%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 100%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 88%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 96%
ME Councilor At-Large Joseph Baldacci Democratic 96%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 29%
MI U.S. House 9 Sandy Levin Democratic 96%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 33%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 96%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Thad Cochran Republican 3%
MS U.S. Senate Jr Roger Wicker Republican 0%
NC U.S. House 3 Walter Jones, Jr. Republican 4%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 4%
NJ U.S. House 2 Frank LoBiondo Republican 38%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 29%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 100%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 25%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 13%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 96%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 88%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 100%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 100%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 96%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 0%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 83%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 100%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 17%
OH Attorney General Mike DeWine Republican 17%
OH Governor John Kasich Republican 8%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 0%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 0%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 92%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 96%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle Democratic 71%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 100%
SC U.S. House 1 Mark Sanford, Jr. Republican 13%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 96%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 4%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 0%
TX U.S. House 3 Sam Johnson Republican 0%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 0%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 0%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 100%
TX U.S. House 21 Lamar Smith Republican 4%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 83%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 88%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 96%
UT U.S. Senate Sr Orrin Hatch Republican 17%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 96%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 0%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 93%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 96%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 100%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 4%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett 92%
Neil Abercrombie 92%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 17%
Gary Ackerman 92%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 97%
Wayne Allard 4%
Rob Andrews 58%
Bill Archer 4%
Richard Armey 4%
John Ashcroft 0%
Spencer Bachus 0%
Henry Scott Baesler 58%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 3%
Richard Hugh Baker 0%
William Baker 0%
Cass Ballenger 0%
James Barcia 58%
Bob Barr, Jr. 0%
Bill Barrett 4%
Roscoe Bartlett 4%
Charlie Bass 21%
Herbert Bateman, Sr. 0%
Max Baucus 62%
Anthony Beilenson 100%
Bob Bennett 10%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 83%
Douglas Bereuter 25%
Howard Berman 88%
Tom Bevill 42%
Joe Biden, Jr. 86%
Brian Bilbray 29%
Michael Bilirakis 4%
Jeff Bingaman 86%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 0%
Peter Blute 21%
Sherwood Boehlert 63%
John Boehner 0%
Kit Bond 7%
Henry Bonilla 0%
David Edward Bonior 88%
Sonny Bono 4%
Robert Borski, Jr. 92%
Rick Boucher 79%
Barbara Boxer 100%
Bill Bradley 100%
John Breaux 55%
Bill Brewster 29%
Glen Browder 38%
Corrine Brown 92%
George Brown, Jr. 88%
Hank Brown 3%
Sam Brownback 4%
Richard Bryan 83%
Ed Bryant 4%
John Bryant 92%
Dale Bumpers 90%
Jim Bunn 21%
Jim Bunning 0%
Conrad Burns 3%
Dan Burton 0%
Steve Buyer 4%
Robert Byrd 83%
Herbert Callahan 0%
Dave Camp 4%
Ben Campbell 21%
Mike Castle 38%
John Chafee 52%
Saxby Chambliss 0%
Jim Chapman 46%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 0%
Jon Lynn Christensen 0%
Dick Chrysler 0%
William Clay, Sr. 96%
Eva Clayton 92%
Robert Clement 67%
William Clinger 8%
Dan Coats 3%
Howard Coble 0%
Thomas Coburn 13%
William Cohen 66%
Ronald Coleman 92%
Barbara-Rose Collins 79%
Cardiss Collins 92%
Michael Collins 0%
Larry Combest 0%
Gary Condit 29%
Kent Conrad 83%
John Conyers, Jr. 92%
Wes Cooley 0%
Jerry Costello 67%
Paul Coverdell 7%
Christopher Cox 4%
William Coyne 100%
Larry Craig 0%
Robert Cramer 33%
Philip Crane 0%
Frank Arnold Cremeans 4%
Barbara Cubin 0%
Randall Cunningham 13%
Alfonse D'Amato 14%
Patsy Ann Danner 58%
Thomas Daschle 86%
Thomas Davis III 29%
Eligio de la Garza II 54%
Thomas DeLay 0%
Ronald Dellums 96%
Peter Deutsch 67%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 21%
Jay Dickey 0%
Norm Dicks 96%
John Dingell 96%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top