Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: National Taxpayers Union

2010 Positions on Tax and Spending

State Office District Name Party Rating
Gary Ackerman 2%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 85%
John Adler 40%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 7%
Todd Akin 89%
TN U.S. Senate Sr Lamar Alexander Republican 93%
Rodney Alexander 89%
Jason Altmire 33%
Rob Andrews 5%
Michael Arcuri 31%
Steve Austria 87%
Joe Baca, Sr. 5%
Michele Bachmann 87%
Spencer Bachus 85%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 98%
Brian Baird 19%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 6%
WY U.S. Senate Jr John Barrasso Republican 98%
J. Gresham Barrett 91%
John Barrow 32%
Roscoe Bartlett 86%
TX U.S. House 6 Joe Barton Republican 89%
Max Baucus 9%
Evan Bayh 43%
Melissa Bean 17%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 6%
Mark Begich 13%
CO U.S. Senate Sr Michael Bennet Democratic 20%
Bob Bennett 96%
Shelley Berkley 7%
Howard Berman 6%
Marion Berry 41%
Judy Biggert 77%
Brian Bilbray 78%
FL U.S. House 12 Gus Bilirakis Republican 79%
Jeff Bingaman 3%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 88%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 9%
Tim Bishop 6%
TN U.S. House 7 Marsha Blackburn Republican 93%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 7%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 88%
OH State House 59 John Boccieri Democratic 12%
John Boehner 92%
Kit Bond 90%
Jo Bonner, Jr. 85%
Mary Bono Mack 82%
AR U.S. Senate Sr John Boozman Republican 86%
Dan Boren 46%
Leonard Boswell 7%
Rick Boucher 35%
Charles Boustany, Jr. 89%
Barbara Boxer 6%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 14%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 91%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 5%
Bruce Braley 4%
Bobby Bright 70%
Paul Broun 94%
Corrine Brown 5%
Henry Brown, Jr. 86%
Scott Brown 84%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 3%
Sam Brownback 100%
Ginny Brown-Waite 82%
FL U.S. House 16 Vern Buchanan Republican 84%
Jim Bunning 97%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 86%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 97%
Dan Burton 90%
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic 4%
Steve Buyer 87%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 86%
Dave Camp 88%
John Campbell III 93%
Eric Cantor 90%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 16%
Joseph Cao 53%
WV U.S. Senate Jr Shelley Capito Republican 76%
Lois Capps 5%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 7%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 5%
Dennis Cardoza 10%
Russ Carnahan 6%
Christopher Carney 14%
DE U.S. Senate Sr Tom Carper Democratic 12%
IN U.S. House 7 André Carson Democratic 4%
TX U.S. House 31 John Carter Republican 90%
PA U.S. Senate Sr Bob Casey, Jr. Democratic 8%
LA U.S. Senate Sr Bill Cassidy Republican 85%
Mike Castle 59%
FL U.S. House 14 Kathy Castor Democratic 7%
Jason Chaffetz 92%
Saxby Chambliss 97%
Ben Chandler III 32%
Travis Childers 48%
CA U.S. House 27 Judy Chu Democratic 5%
NY U.S. House 9 Yvette Clarke Democratic 6%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 8%
MO U.S. House 5 Emanuel Cleaver II Democratic 4%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 2%
Howard Coble 88%
Thomas Coburn 96%
Thad Cochran 90%
CO U.S. House 6 Michael Coffman Republican 90%
TN U.S. House 9 Steve Cohen Democratic 8%
OK U.S. House 4 Tom Cole Republican 84%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 72%
TX U.S. House 11 Mike Conaway Republican 90%
VA U.S. House 11 Gerry Connolly Democratic 12%
Kent Conrad 7%
John Conyers, Jr. 8%
TN U.S. House 5 Jim Cooper Democratic 38%
TN U.S. Senate Jr Robert Corker Republican 99%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 99%
CA U.S. House 16 Jim Costa Democratic 16%
Jerry Costello 10%
CT U.S. House 2 Joe Courtney Democratic 10%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 99%
Ander Crenshaw 84%
Mark Critz 15%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 7%
TX U.S. House 28 Henry Cuellar Democratic 14%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 90%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 5%
Kathy Dahlkemper 13%
Artur Davis 34%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 8%
Geoff Davis 87%
Lincoln Davis 38%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 5%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 12%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 3%
Bill Delahunt 6%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 5%
James DeMint 96%
PA U.S. House 15 Charlie Dent Republican 68%
FL U.S. House 22 Ted Deutch Democratic 8%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 77%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 79%
Norm Dicks 6%
John Dingell 4%
Charles Djou 69%
Chris Dodd 7%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 12%
IN U.S. Senate Sr Joe Donnelly, Sr. Democratic 17%
Byron Dorgan 4%
PA U.S. House 14 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 7%
David Dreier 89%
Steve Driehaus 12%
TN U.S. House 2 John Duncan, Jr. Republican 91%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 6%
Donna Edwards 7%
Chet Edwards 40%
Vern Ehlers 70%
MN U.S. House 5 Keith Ellison Democratic 6%
Brad Ellsworth 13%
Jo Ann Emerson 83%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 4%
John Ensign 94%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 97%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 6%
Bob Etheridge 5%
OK Governor Mary Fallin Republican 90%
Sam Farr 7%
Chaka Fattah, Sr. 7%
Russ Feingold 25%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 7%
Bob Filner 9%
AZ U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Flake Republican 97%
John Fleming, Jr. 88%
Randy Forbes 83%
NE U.S. House 1 Jeff Fortenberry Republican 80%
IL U.S. House 11 Bill Foster Democratic 10%
NC U.S. House 5 Virginia Foxx Republican 88%
Barney Frank 4%
Al Franken 5%
Trent Franks 90%
NJ U.S. House 11 Rodney Frelinghuysen Republican 85%
OH U.S. House 11 Marcia Fudge Democratic 5%
Elton Gallegly 87%
CA U.S. House 3 John Garamendi Democratic 5%
Scott Garrett 91%
Jim Gerlach 68%
Gabrielle Giffords 24%
NY U.S. Senate Jr Kirsten Gillibrand Democratic 3%
Phil Gingrey 91%
TX U.S. House 1 Louie Gohmert Republican 89%
Charlie Gonzalez 7%
VA U.S. House 6 Bob Goodlatte Republican 89%
Bart Gordon 8%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 97%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 92%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 93%
GA U.S. House 14 Tom Graves, Jr. Republican 89%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 89%
Alan Grayson 8%
TX U.S. House 9 Al Green Democratic 6%
TX U.S. House 29 Gene Green Democratic 6%
Judd Gregg 94%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.00 but know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a charge of $0.00 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top