Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Howard Jarvis Taxpayers Association

2009 Positions

Issues: Taxes
State Office District Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House 2 Jared Huffman Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican 94%
CA U.S. House 11 Mark DeSaulnier Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 26 Julia Brownley Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 33 Ted Lieu Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 35 Norma Torres Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 46 Lou Correa Democratic 65%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 0%
CA State Senate 4 Jim Nielsen Republican 96%
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic 25%
CA State Senate 9 Nancy Skinner Democratic 0%
CA State Senate 12 Anna Caballero Democratic 0%
CA State Senate 13 Gerald Hill Democratic 0%
CA State Senate 15 Jim Beall, Jr. Democratic 0%
CA State Senate 17 Bill Monning Democratic 0%
CA State Senate 25 Anthony Portantino, Jr. Democratic 0%
CA Secretary of State Alex Padilla Democratic 0%
CA Mayor At-Large Darrell Steinberg Democratic 0%
CA Mayor Mary Salas 0%
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries 97%
CA Supervisor 4 Nathan Fletcher Independent 92%
CA Supervisor 4 Curt Hagman 92%
CA Supervisor 5 Joe Simitian No Party Affiliation 0%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo 0%
CA Council Member 2 Paul Krekorian 0%
CA Council Member 3 Bob Blumenfield 0%
CA Council Member 9 Curren Price, Jr. 0%
CA Council Member Ward 3 Jose Solorio 0%
CA Treasurer Fiona Ma Democratic 0%
Samuel Aanestad 93%
Anthony Adams 75%
Elaine Alquist 0%
Tom Ammiano 0%
Joel Anderson 100%
Juan Arambula 12%
Roy Ashburn 66%
John Benoit 88%
Bill Berryhill 85%
Tom Berryhill 84%
Sam Blakeslee 95%
Martin Block 2%
Joan Buchanan 0%
Charles Calderon 0%
Ron Calderon 0%
Amina Carter 0%
Wesley Chesbro 0%
David Cogdill 68%
Connie Conway 96%
Ellen Corbett 0%
Joe Coto 0%
Dave Cox 85%
Mike Davis 0%
Hector De La Torre 0%
Kevin De Leon 0%
Jeff Denham 94%
Charles DeVore 97%
Denise Ducheny 9%
Robert Dutton 89%
Michael Duvall 94%
Bill Emmerson 90%
Mike Eng 0%
Noreen Evans 0%
Mike Feuer 0%
Dean Florez 0%
Paul Fong 0%
Felipe Fuentes 0%
Jean Fuller 97%
Warren Furutani 0%
Ted Gaines 96%
Martin Garrick 95%
Danny Gilmore 82%
Isadore Hall III 0%
Loni Hancock 0%
Diane Harkey 100%
Tom Harman 79%
Mary Hayashi 0%
Ed Hernandez 0%
Dennis Hollingsworth 97%
Alyson Huber 29%
Robert Huff 95%
Dave Jones 0%
Christine Kehoe 0%
Steve Knight 99%
Mark Leno 0%
Carol Liu 0%
Dan Logue 94%
Bonnie Lowenthal 0%
Abel Maldonado 57%
Tony Mendoza 0%
Jeff Miller 98%
Pedro Nava 0%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 39%
Brian Nestande 93%
Roger Niello 77%
Jenny Oropeza 0%
Fran Pavley 0%
John Pérez 0%
Manuel Pérez 7%
Gloria Romero 0%
George Runner, Jr. 94%
Ira Ruskin 0%
Lori Saldaña 0%
Jim Silva 99%
Cameron Smyth 91%
Tony Strickland 98%
Audra Strickland 97%
Sandré Swanson 0%
Tom Torlakson 0%
Alberto Torrico 0%
Van Tran 96%
Mike Villines 72%
Mimi Walters 94%
Patricia Wiggins 0%
Lois Wolk 0%
Roderick Wright 0%
Mark Wyland 89%
Mariko Yamada 2%
Leland Yee 0%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top