Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Howard Jarvis Taxpayers Association

2008 Positions

Issues: Taxes
State Office District Name Party Rating
CA U.S. House 2 Jared Huffman Democratic 10.6
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican 81.4
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 87.5
CA U.S. House 11 Mark DeSaulnier Democratic 12.3
CA U.S. House 26 Julia Brownley Democratic 7.7
CA U.S. House 33 Ted Lieu Democratic 21.2
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 9.7
CA U.S. House 45 Mimi Walters Republican 100
CA U.S. House 46 Lou Correa Democratic 60
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 3
CA State Assembly 30 Anna Caballero Democratic 15.8
CA State Senate 1 Ted Gaines Republican 100
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic 37.5
CA State Senate 15 Jim Beall, Jr. Democratic 8.6
CA State Senate 16 Jean Fuller Republican 93.3
CA State Senate 22 Ed Hernandez Democratic 11.7
CA State Senate 24 Kevin de Leon Democratic 9.4
CA State Senate 25 Anthony Portantino, Jr. Democratic 7
CA State Senate 32 Tony Mendoza Democratic 16.2
CA State Senate 38 Joel Anderson Republican 100
CA Secretary of State Alex Padilla Democratic 4.2
CA Mayor At-Large Mary Salas 9.4
CA Mayor At-Large Darrell Steinberg Democratic 5.6
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries 98.5
CA Supervisor 5 Joe Simitian No Party Affiliation 4.7
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo 6.4
CA Council Member 2 Paul Krekorian 9
CA Council Member 7 Felipe Fuentes 9.7
CA Council Member 9 Curren Price, Jr. 11.4
CA Council Member Ward 3 Jose Solorio 13.8
Samuel Aanestad 97
Anthony Adams 82.5
Elaine Alquist 7.4
Juan Arambula 7.9
Roy Ashburn 82.1
John Benoit 91.4
Sam Blakeslee 91.2
Charles Calderon 22.9
Ron Calderon 12.5
Amina Carter 8.3
David Cogdill 92
Ellen Corbett 6.6
Joe Coto 9.1
Dave Cox 82.8
Mike Davis 15.5
Hector De La Torre 10.5
Charles DeVore 98.7
Denise Ducheny 16
Robert Dutton 87.8
Michael Duvall 96.6
Bill Emmerson 92.8
Mike Eng 7.1
Noreen Evans 11.5
Mike Feuer 10.5
Dean Florez 6.1
Warren Furutani 9.8
Martin Garrick 94.3
Loni Hancock 7.9
Tom Harman 83.4
Mary Hayashi 8.1
Dennis Hollingsworth 98.2
Robert Huff 88.1
Dave Jones 11.5
Christine Kehoe 6.5
Mark Leno 13.5
Fiona Ma 14.7
Abel Maldonado 77.6
Pedro Nava 9.6
Gloria Negrete McLeod 31.8
Roger Niello 90
Jenny Oropeza 8.3
Gloria Romero 6.3
George Runner, Jr. 81.1
Ira Ruskin 6.7
Lori Saldaña 14.2
Jim Silva 97
Cameron Smyth 93.8
Tony Strickland 100
Audra Strickland 100
Sandré Swanson 8.8
Alberto Torrico 9.4
Van Tran 86.4
Mike Villines 90.6
Patricia Wiggins 8.3
Lois Wolk 11.8
Mark Wyland 92.4
Leland Yee 8.9

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top