Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: American Library Association

2009 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
Russ Feingold 50%
Jim Gerlach 50%
AZ U.S. House 3 Raul Grijalva Democratic 50%
Rush Holt, Jr. 50%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 50%
Joe Lieberman 50%
Todd Platts 50%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 50%
IL U.S. House 9 Jan Schakowsky Democratic 50%
NM U.S. Senate Sr Tom Udall Democratic 50%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 38%
Ben Chandler III 38%
TN U.S. House 9 Steve Cohen Democratic 38%
Bart Gordon 38%
Jane Harman 38%
Maurice Hinchey 38%
Mike Honda 38%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 38%
GA U.S. House 4 Hank Johnson, Jr. Democratic 38%
Dennis Kucinich 38%
NJ U.S. House 7 Leonard Lance Republican 38%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 38%
IA U.S. House 2 Dave Loebsack Democratic 38%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 38%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 38%
Jim McDermott 38%
Mike Michaud 38%
Jim Moran, Jr. 38%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 38%
Ron Paul 38%
ME U.S. House 1 Chellie Pingree Democratic 38%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 38%
NH U.S. House 1 Carol Shea-Porter Democratic 38%
NY U.S. House 20 Paul Tonko Democratic 38%
Lynn Woolsey 38%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 33%
Mark Begich 33%
Jeff Bingaman 33%
WA U.S. Senate Jr Maria Cantwell Democratic 33%
MN U.S. Senate Sr Amy Klobuchar Democratic 33%
Frank Lautenberg 33%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 33%
OR U.S. Senate Jr Jeff Merkley Democratic 33%
Jay Rockefeller IV 33%
Olympia Snowe 33%
MT U.S. Senate Sr Jon Tester Democratic 33%
RI U.S. Senate Jr Sheldon Whitehouse Democratic 33%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 33%
Gary Ackerman 25%
Michael Arcuri 25%
John Barrow 25%
Shelley Berkley 25%
Judy Biggert 25%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 25%
Tim Bishop 25%
OH State House 59 John Boccieri Democratic 25%
AR U.S. Senate Sr John Boozman Republican 25%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 25%
Bobby Bright 25%
TX U.S. House 26 Michael Burgess Republican 25%
Dan Burton 25%
Lois Capps 25%
MA U.S. House 7 Mike Capuano Democratic 25%
IN U.S. House 7 André Carson Democratic 25%
Travis Childers 25%
Howard Coble 25%
CO U.S. House 6 Michael Coffman Republican 25%
VA U.S. House 11 Gerry Connolly Democratic 25%
NY U.S. House 14 Joe Crowley Democratic 25%
TX U.S. House 7 John Culberson Republican 25%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 25%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 25%
Bill Delahunt 25%
FL U.S. House 25 Mario Diaz-Balart Republican 25%
Vern Ehlers 25%
MN U.S. House 5 Keith Ellison Democratic 25%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 25%
Sam Farr 25%
Chaka Fattah, Sr. 25%
NE U.S. House 1 Jeff Fortenberry Republican 25%
Charlie Gonzalez 25%
John Hall 25%
CT U.S. House 4 Jim Himes Democratic 25%
Paul Hodes 25%
Steve Israel 25%
Tim Johnson 25%
Frank Kratovil, Jr. 25%
Tom Latham 25%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 25%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 25%
Cynthia Lummis 25%
Dan Maffei 25%
Betsy Markey 25%
Jim Marshall 25%
Eric Massa 25%
Carolyn McCarthy 25%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 25%
John McHugh 25%
Mike McIntyre 25%
NY U.S. House 5 Gregory Meeks Democratic 25%
John Mica 25%
Walt Minnick 25%
Harry Mitchell 25%
Dennis Moore 25%
WI U.S. House 4 Gwen Moore Democratic 25%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 25%
Tim Murphy 25%
Jim Oberstar 25%
Donald Payne 25%
CO U.S. House 2 Jared Polis Democratic 25%
Nick Rahall II 25%
Mike Ross 25%
Steve Rothman 25%
OH U.S. House 13 Tim Ryan Democratic 25%
Allyson Schwartz 25%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 25%
Ike Skelton 25%
NY U.S. House 25 Louise Slaughter Democratic 25%
Mark Souder 25%
CA U.S. House 14 Jackie Speier Democratic 25%
Pete Stark 25%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 25%
PA U.S. House 5 GT Thompson, Jr. Republican 25%
Todd Tiahrt 25%
NV U.S. House 1 Dina Titus Democratic 25%
Ed Towns 25%
OH U.S. House 10 Mike Turner Republican 25%
MD U.S. Senate Jr Chris Van Hollen, Jr. Democratic 25%
MN U.S. House 1 Tim Walz Democratic 25%
Zach Wamp 25%
Henry Waxman 25%
Robert Wexler 25%
Charlie Wilson, Jr. 25%
VA U.S. House 1 Rob Wittman Republican 25%
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 25%
WY U.S. Senate Jr John Barrasso Republican 17%
Max Baucus 17%
CO U.S. Senate Sr Michael Bennet Democratic 17%
Barbara Boxer 17%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 17%
Jim Bunning 17%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 17%
Roland Burris 17%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 17%
PA U.S. Senate Sr Bob Casey, Jr. Democratic 17%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 17%
Kent Conrad 17%
TX U.S. Senate Sr John Cornyn Republican 17%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 17%
Chris Dodd 17%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 17%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 17%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 17%
NY U.S. Senate Jr Kirsten Gillibrand Democratic 17%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 17%
Timothy Johnson 17%
Ted Kaufman 17%
Edward Kennedy, Sr. 17%
Herb Kohl 17%
Carl Levin 17%
Blanche Lincoln 17%
Dick Lugar 17%
AZ U.S. Senate Sr John McCain III Republican 17%
Barbara Mikulski 17%
Ben Nelson 17%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 17%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 17%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 17%
NH U.S. Senate Sr Jeanne Shaheen Democratic 17%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 17%
Mark Udall 17%
Neil Abercrombie 13%
John Adler 13%
Rodney Alexander 13%
Jason Altmire 13%
Rob Andrews 13%
Steve Austria 13%
Joe Baca, Sr. 13%
Spencer Bachus 13%
Brian Baird 13%
Roscoe Bartlett 13%
Melissa Bean 13%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 13%
Howard Berman 13%
Marion Berry 13%
Brian Bilbray 13%
FL U.S. House 12 Gus Bilirakis Republican 13%
UT U.S. House 1 Rob Bishop Republican 13%
MO U.S. Senate Jr Roy Blunt Republican 13%
Mary Bono Mack 13%
Dan Boren 13%
Leonard Boswell 13%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 13%
PA U.S. House 1 Bob Brady Democratic 13%
Bruce Braley 13%
Corrine Brown 13%
Henry Brown, Jr. 13%
Ginny Brown-Waite 13%
FL U.S. House 16 Vern Buchanan Republican 13%
NC U.S. House 1 G.K. Butterfield, Jr. Democratic 13%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top