Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Business-Industry Political Action Committee

1997 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 92%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 76%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 91%
AR Governor Asa Hutchinson Republican 98%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 10%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 2%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 7%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 9%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 22%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 4%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 96%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 2%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 5%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 7%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 88%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 2%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 5%
FL Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 91%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 35%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 4%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 95%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 91%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 5%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 5%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 2%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 85%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 9%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 100%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 98%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 100%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 93%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 4%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 4%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 4%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 9%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 11%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 4%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 71%
ME Councilor At-Large Joseph Baldacci Democratic 9%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 4%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 87%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 40%
MO U.S. Senate Sr Roy Blunt Republican 89%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Roger Wicker Republican 98%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 10%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 91%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 7%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 2%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 60%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 9%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 11%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 5%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 65%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 2%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 2%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 4%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 5%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 2%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 4%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 0%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 91%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 93%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 2%
OH Governor Mike DeWine Republican 81%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 91%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 96%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 14%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 9%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 2%
PA U.S. House 18 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 24%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 5%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 93%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 7%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 93%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 98%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 98%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 98%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 2%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 4%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 15%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 4%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 19%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 2%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 19%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 11%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 9%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 84%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett 7%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 86%
Neil Abercrombie 4%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 95%
Gary Ackerman 4%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 16%
Wayne Allard 95%
Thomas Allen 4%
Rob Andrews 7%
Bill Archer 98%
Richard Armey 98%
John Ashcroft 95%
Spencer Bachus 91%
Henry Scott Baesler 38%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 95%
Richard Hugh Baker 100%
Cass Ballenger 98%
James Barcia 31%
Bob Barr, Jr. 96%
Bill Barrett 80%
Roscoe Bartlett 93%
Joe Barton 91%
Charlie Bass 91%
Herbert Bateman, Sr. 82%
Max Baucus 38%
Bob Bennett 100%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 7%
Douglas Bereuter 82%
Howard Berman 7%
Marion Berry 33%
Joe Biden, Jr. 15%
Brian Bilbray 89%
Michael Bilirakis 91%
Jeff Bingaman 21%
Rod Blagojevich 4%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 98%
Sherwood Boehlert 65%
John Boehner 98%
Kit Bond 100%
Henry Bonilla 98%
David Edward Bonior 2%
Sonny Bono 93%
Robert Borski, Jr. 4%
Leonard Boswell 28%
Rick Boucher 7%
Barbara Boxer 5%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 37%
John Breaux 38%
Corrine Brown 7%
George Brown, Jr. 9%
Sam Brownback 95%
Richard Bryan 24%
Ed Bryant 96%
Dale Bumpers 14%
Jim Bunning 93%
Conrad Burns 91%
Dan Burton 89%
Steve Buyer 98%
Robert Byrd 33%
Herbert Callahan 93%
Dave Camp 93%
Ben Campbell 86%
Thomas Campbell 74%
Chris Cannon 98%
Walter Holden Capps 7%
Julia Carson 2%
Mike Castle 61%
John Chafee 71%
Saxby Chambliss 93%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 91%
Jon Lynn Christensen 91%
William Clay, Sr. 2%
Eva Clayton 2%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 19%
Robert Clement 19%
Dan Coats 90%
Howard Coble 100%
Thomas Coburn 89%
Thad Cochran 91%
Michael Collins 93%
Larry Combest 98%
Gary Condit 42%
Kent Conrad 5%
John Conyers, Jr. 7%
Merrill Cook 93%
John Cooksey 100%
Jerry Costello 2%
Paul Coverdell 100%
Christopher Cox 91%
William Coyne 2%
Larry Craig 100%
Robert Cramer 37%
Philip Crane 96%
Barbara Cubin 95%
Randall Cunningham 96%
Alfonse D'Amato 62%
Patsy Ann Danner 33%
Thomas Daschle 24%
James Davis 7%
Thomas Davis III 83%
Nathan Deal 96%
Bill Delahunt 2%
Thomas DeLay 98%
Ronald Dellums 2%
Peter Deutsch 11%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 60%
Jay Dickey 93%
Norm Dicks 11%
John Dingell 10%
Julian Dixon 7%
Chris Dodd 14%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 100%
Calvin Dooley 31%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top