Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Center for Security Policy

1997 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 89%
AL U.S. Senate Sr Richard Shelby Republican 86%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 95%
AR Governor Asa Hutchinson Republican 95%
CA U.S. Senate Sr Dianne Feinstein Democratic 7%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 30%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 15%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 5%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 45%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 15%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 95%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 32%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 5%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 6%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 100%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 25%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 32%
FL Chief Justice of the Supreme Court Charles Canady 85%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 55%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 15%
IA U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Grassley Republican 86%
ID U.S. Senate Sr Mike Crapo Republican 100%
IL U.S. Senate Sr Dick Durbin Democratic 14%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 11%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 11%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 85%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 50%
KS U.S. Senate Sr Pat Roberts Republican 46%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 95%
KY U.S. Senate Sr Mitch McConnell Republican 79%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 85%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 20%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 22%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 10%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 45%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 58%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 11%
ME U.S. Senate Sr Susan Collins Republican 57%
ME Councilor At-Large Joseph Baldacci Democratic 25%
MI U.S. Senate Sr Debbie Stabenow Democratic 21%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 70%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 25%
MO U.S. Senate Sr Roy Blunt Republican 89%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Roger Wicker Republican 90%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 50%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 79%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 21%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 45%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 79%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 35%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 50%
NY U.S. Senate Sr Chuck Schumer Democratic 25%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 75%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 11%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 17%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 22%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 5%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 33%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 15%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 32%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 67%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 55%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 65%
OH Governor Mike DeWine Republican 64%
OK U.S. Senate Sr Jim Inhofe Republican 100%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 90%
OR U.S. Senate Sr Ron Wyden Democratic 0%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 5%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 30%
PA U.S. House 18 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 35%
RI U.S. Senate Sr Jack Reed Democratic 0%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 80%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 45%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 95%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 85%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 85%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 80%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 37%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 35%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 10%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 40%
VT U.S. Senate Sr Patrick Leahy Democratic 7%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 35%
WA U.S. Senate Sr Patty Murray Democratic 7%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 30%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 10%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 68%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett 20%
WY U.S. Senate Sr Mike Enzi Republican 77%
Neil Abercrombie 53%
Edmond Spencer Abraham 79%
Gary Ackerman 24%
Daniel Akaka, Sr. 7%
Wayne Allard 86%
Thomas Allen 20%
Rob Andrews 33%
Bill Archer 85%
Richard Armey 85%
John Ashcroft 93%
Spencer Bachus 95%
Kay Bailey Hutchison 86%
Richard Hugh Baker 95%
Cass Ballenger 71%
James Barcia 60%
Bob Barr, Jr. 100%
Bill Barrett 82%
Roscoe Bartlett 95%
Joe Barton 79%
Charlie Bass 65%
Herbert Bateman, Sr. 65%
Max Baucus 0%
Bob Bennett 86%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 32%
Douglas Bereuter 58%
Howard Berman 32%
Marion Berry 35%
Joe Biden, Jr. 8%
Brian Bilbray 80%
Michael Bilirakis 90%
Jeff Bingaman 0%
Rod Blagojevich 25%
Thomas Bliley, Jr. 72%
Sherwood Boehlert 55%
John Boehner 82%
Kit Bond 69%
Henry Bonilla 79%
David Edward Bonior 30%
Mary Bono Mack 100%
Robert Borski, Jr. 47%
Leonard Boswell 35%
Rick Boucher 25%
Barbara Boxer 0%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 60%
John Breaux 7%
Corrine Brown 40%
George Brown, Jr. 13%
Sam Brownback 86%
Richard Bryan 7%
Ed Bryant 85%
Jim Bunning 95%
Conrad Burns 100%
Dan Burton 95%
Steve Buyer 82%
Robert Byrd 7%
Herbert Callahan 89%
Dave Camp 60%
Ben Campbell 93%
Thomas Campbell 75%
Chris Cannon 80%
Lois Capps 6%
Julia Carson 29%
Mike Castle 65%
John Chafee 29%
Saxby Chambliss 95%
Helen Chenoweth-Hage 94%
William Clay, Sr. 18%
Eva Clayton 35%
Joseph Maxwell Cleland 7%
Robert Clement 40%
Howard Coble 65%
Thomas Coburn 82%
Thad Cochran 38%
Michael Collins 95%
Larry Combest 85%
Gary Condit 60%
Kent Conrad 0%
John Conyers, Jr. 5%
Merrill Cook 100%
John Cooksey 89%
Jerry Costello 47%
Paul Coverdell 93%
Christopher Cox 100%
William Coyne 20%
Larry Craig 86%
Robert Cramer 70%
Philip Crane 88%
Barbara Cubin 100%
Randall Cunningham 90%
Patsy Ann Danner 55%
Thomas Daschle 0%
James Davis 35%
Thomas Davis III 75%
Nathan Deal 100%
Bill Delahunt 15%
Thomas DeLay 90%
Peter Deutsch 29%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 95%
Jay Dickey 95%
Norm Dicks 50%
John Dingell 21%
Julian Dixon 45%
Chris Dodd 21%
Pete Domenici, Jr. 50%
Calvin Dooley 25%
John Doolittle 94%
Byron Dorgan 0%
David Dreier 84%
John Duncan, Jr. 70%
Jennifer Dunn 89%
Chet Edwards 32%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top