Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: California Taxpayers' Association

2008 Positions

Issues: Taxes
State Office District Name Party Rating
Anthony Adams 100%
CA State Senate 38 Joel Anderson Republican 100%
Roy Ashburn 100%
CA State Senate 8 Tom Berryhill Republican 100%
Sam Blakeslee 100%
David Cogdill 100%
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican 100%
Dave Cox 100%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 100%
Charles DeVore 100%
Robert Dutton 100%
Michael Duvall 100%
Bill Emmerson 100%
CA State Senate 16 Jean Fuller Republican 100%
CA State Senate 1 Ted Gaines Republican 100%
Martin Garrick 100%
Tom Harman 100%
Dennis Hollingsworth 100%
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries 100%
Abel Maldonado 100%
Roger Niello 100%
George Runner, Jr. 100%
Jim Silva 100%
Cameron Smyth 100%
Audra Strickland 100%
Van Tran 100%
Mike Villines 100%
Mark Wyland 100%
Samuel Aanestad 93%
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic 86%
CA U.S. House 46 Lou Correa Democratic 77%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 50%
Ron Calderon 42%
Denise Ducheny 33%
CA Council Member 7 Felipe Fuentes 30%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo 29%
Jose Solorio 29%
CA State Senate 22 Ed Hernandez Democratic 26%
CA U.S. House 33 Ted Lieu Democratic 25%
Fiona Ma 25%
Jenny Oropeza 24%
CA Secretary of State Alex Padilla Democratic 21%
CA State Senate 32 Tony Mendoza Democratic 20%
CA Council Member 9 Curren Price, Jr. 20%
Alberto Torrico 20%
Amina Carter 19%
Pedro Nava 19%
Juan Arambula 18%
Mike Feuer 18%
CA State Senate 25 Anthony Portantino, Jr. Democratic 18%
Ira Ruskin 18%
Patricia Wiggins 18%
CA State Assembly 30 Anna Caballero Democratic 17%
Charles Calderon 17%
Joe Coto 15%
Gloria Romero 15%
CA Mayor At-Large Mary Salas 15%
CA Mayor At-Large Darrell Steinberg Democratic 15%
Leland Yee 15%
CA State Senate 15 Jim Beall, Jr. Democratic 14%
Hector De La Torre 14%
Warren Furutani 14%
Mary Hayashi 14%
Elaine Alquist 13%
Ellen Corbett 13%
Dean Florez 13%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 13%
CA Council Member 2 Paul Krekorian 11%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 10%
CA U.S. House 26 Julia Brownley Democratic 10%
CA State Senate 24 Kevin de Leon Democratic 10%
Mike Eng 10%
CA U.S. House 2 Jared Huffman Democratic 10%
Dave Jones 10%
Lori Saldaña 10%
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Non-partisan 8%
Christine Kehoe 7%
CA Supervisor 5 Joe Simitian No Party Affiliation 7%
Mike Davis 6%
CA U.S. House 11 Mark DeSaulnier Democratic 5%
Noreen Evans 5%
Sandré Swanson 5%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top