Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: California Taxpayers' Association

2008 Positions

Issues: Taxes
State Office District Name Party Rating
Samuel Aanestad 93%
Anthony Adams 100%
Elaine Alquist 13%
Juan Arambula 18%
Roy Ashburn 100%
Sam Blakeslee 100%
Charles Calderon 17%
Ron Calderon 42%
Amina Carter 19%
CA Council Member 1 Gilbert Cedillo 29%
David Cogdill 100%
Ellen Corbett 13%
Joe Coto 15%
Dave Cox 100%
Mike Davis 6%
Hector De La Torre 14%
Charles DeVore 100%
Denise Ducheny 33%
Robert Dutton 100%
Michael Duvall 100%
Bill Emmerson 100%
Mike Eng 10%
Noreen Evans 5%
Mike Feuer 18%
Dean Florez 13%
CA Council Member 7 Felipe Fuentes 30%
Warren Furutani 14%
Martin Garrick 100%
Tom Harman 100%
Mary Hayashi 14%
Dennis Hollingsworth 100%
CA Supervisor 1 Kevin Jeffries 100%
Dave Jones 10%
Christine Kehoe 7%
CA Council Member 2 Paul Krekorian 11%
Fiona Ma 25%
Abel Maldonado 100%
Pedro Nava 19%
Gloria Negrete McLeod 50%
Roger Niello 100%
Jenny Oropeza 24%
CA Council Member 9 Curren Price, Jr. 20%
Gloria Romero 15%
George Runner, Jr. 100%
Ira Ruskin 18%
CA Mayor At-Large Mary Salas 15%
Lori Saldaña 10%
Jim Silva 100%
Cameron Smyth 100%
CA Council Member Ward 3 Jose Solorio 29%
Audra Strickland 100%
Sandré Swanson 5%
Alberto Torrico 20%
Van Tran 100%
Mike Villines 100%
Patricia Wiggins 18%
Mark Wyland 100%
Leland Yee 15%
CA U.S. House 37 Karen Bass Democratic 10%
CA State Senate 15 Jim Beall, Jr. Democratic 14%
CA U.S. House 26 Julia Brownley Democratic 10%
CA State Assembly 30 Anna Caballero Democratic 17%
CA U.S. House 46 Lou Correa Democratic 77%
CA State Senate 24 Kevin de Leon Democratic 10%
CA U.S. House 11 Mark DeSaulnier Democratic 5%
CA State Senate 5 Cathleen Galgiani Democratic 86%
CA State Senate 22 Ed Hernandez Democratic 26%
CA U.S. House 2 Jared Huffman Democratic 10%
CA U.S. House 33 Ted Lieu Democratic 25%
CA U.S. House 47 Alan Lowenthal Democratic 13%
CA State Senate 32 Tony Mendoza Democratic 20%
CA Secretary of State Alex Padilla Democratic 21%
CA State Senate 25 Anthony Portantino, Jr. Democratic 18%
CA Mayor At-Large Darrell Steinberg Democratic 15%
CA State Superintendent of Public Instruction Tom Torlakson Non-partisan 8%
CA Supervisor 5 Joe Simitian No Party Affiliation 7%
CA State Senate 38 Joel Anderson Republican 100%
CA State Senate 8 Tom Berryhill Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 8 Paul Cook Republican 100%
CA U.S. House 10 Jeff Denham Republican 100%
CA State Senate 16 Jean Fuller Republican 100%
CA State Senate 1 Ted Gaines Republican 100%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top