Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Family Research Council

2001 Positions on Conservative Issues

State Office District Name Party Rating
AK U.S. House At-Large Donald Young Republican 90%
AL U.S. House 4 Robert Aderholt Republican 90%
CA U.S. House 5 Mike Thompson Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 12 Nancy Pelosi Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 13 Barbara Lee Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 18 Anna Eshoo Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 19 Zoe Lofgren Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 28 Adam Schiff Democratic 10%
CA U.S. House 30 Brad Sherman Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 32 Grace Napolitano Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 40 Lucille Roybal-Allard Democratic 0%
CA U.S. House 42 Ken Calvert Republican 90%
CA U.S. House 43 Maxine Waters Democratic 20%
CA U.S. House 53 Susan Davis Democratic 10%
CA Attorney General Xavier Becerra Democratic 0%
CA Supervisor 1 Hilda Solis 0%
CO U.S. House 1 Diana DeGette Democratic 0%
CO Commissioner 2 Scott McInnis 90%
CT U.S. House 1 John Larson Democratic 0%
CT U.S. House 3 Rosa DeLauro Democratic 0%
FL U.S. House 20 Alcee Hastings, Sr. Democratic 0%
GA U.S. Senate Sr Johnny Isakson Republican 80%
GA U.S. House 2 Sanford Bishop, Jr. Democratic 50%
GA U.S. House 5 John Lewis Democratic 0%
ID U.S. House 2 Mike Simpson Republican 80%
IL U.S. House 1 Bobby Rush Democratic 0%
IL U.S. House 7 Danny Davis Democratic 0%
IL U.S. House 9 Jan Schakowsky Democratic 0%
IL U.S. House 15 John Shimkus Republican 80%
IL Board Member At-Large David Phelps 80%
IN U.S. House 1 Pete Visclosky Democratic 0%
KS U.S. Senate Jr Jerry Moran Republican 90%
KY U.S. House 5 Hal Rogers Republican 90%
MA U.S. Senate Jr Ed Markey Democratic 0%
MA U.S. House 1 Richard Neal Democratic 10%
MA U.S. House 2 Jim McGovern Democratic 0%
MD U.S. Senate Sr Ben Cardin Democratic 0%
MD U.S. House 5 Steny Hoyer Democratic 0%
MD U.S. House 7 Elijah Cummings Democratic 0%
ME Councilor At-Large Joseph Baldacci Democratic 0%
MI U.S. House 6 Fred Upton Republican 70%
MN U.S. House 4 Betty McCollum Democratic 0%
MN U.S. House 7 Collin Peterson Democratic 63%
MO U.S. Senate Sr Roy Blunt Republican 80%
MO U.S. House 1 Lacy Clay, Jr. Democratic 10%
MO U.S. House 6 Sam Graves Republican 80%
MS U.S. Senate Sr Roger Wicker Republican 90%
MS U.S. House 2 Bennie Thompson Democratic 10%
NA Vice President Mike Pence Republican 100%
NC U.S. Senate Sr Richard Burr Republican 80%
NC U.S. House 4 David Price Democratic 0%
NJ U.S. Senate Sr Bob Menendez Democratic 10%
NJ U.S. House 4 Chris Smith Republican 80%
NJ U.S. House 6 Frank Pallone, Jr. Democratic 0%
NJ U.S. House 9 Bill Pascrell, Jr. Democratic 30%
NM U.S. Senate Sr Tom Udall Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 2 Pete King Republican 90%
NY U.S. House 5 Gregory Meeks Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 7 Nydia Velázquez Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 10 Jerry Nadler Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 12 Carolyn Maloney Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 15 José Serrano Democratic 0%
NY U.S. House 16 Eliot Engel Democratic 11%
NY U.S. House 17 Nita Lowey Democratic 0%
OH U.S. Senate Sr Sherrod Brown Democratic 0%
OH U.S. Senate Jr Rob Portman Republican 90%
OH U.S. House 1 Steve Chabot Republican 90%
OH U.S. House 9 Marcy Kaptur Democratic 20%
OK U.S. House 3 Frank Lucas Republican 80%
OR U.S. House 2 Greg Walden Republican 70%
OR U.S. House 3 Earl Blumenauer Democratic 0%
OR U.S. House 4 Peter DeFazio Democratic 10%
PA U.S. Senate Jr Pat Toomey Republican 90%
PA U.S. House 18 Mike Doyle, Jr. Democratic 60%
RI U.S. House 2 Jim Langevin Democratic 50%
SC U.S. Senate Sr Lindsey Graham Republican 90%
SC U.S. House 6 Jim Clyburn Democratic 20%
SD U.S. Senate Sr John Thune Republican 80%
TX U.S. House 8 Kevin Brady Republican 90%
TX U.S. House 12 Kay Granger Republican 70%
TX U.S. House 13 Mac Thornberry Republican 90%
TX U.S. House 18 Sheila Jackson Lee Democratic 0%
TX U.S. House 30 Eddie Johnson Democratic 0%
TX U.S. House 35 Lloyd Doggett II Democratic 0%
VA U.S. House 3 Bobby Scott Democratic 10%
VT U.S. Senate Jr Bernie Sanders Independent 20%
WA U.S. House 2 Rick Larsen Democratic 20%
WA U.S. House 9 Adam Smith Democratic 10%
WA Governor Jay Inslee Democratic 0%
WI U.S. Senate Jr Tammy Baldwin Democratic 0%
WI U.S. House 3 Ron Kind Democratic 20%
WI U.S. House 5 Jim Sensenbrenner, Jr. Republican 100%
WI Mayor At-Large Tom Barrett 10%
WV U.S. Senate Jr Shelley Capito Republican 70%
Neil Abercrombie 22%
Gary Ackerman 0%
Todd Akin 100%
Thomas Allen 0%
Rob Andrews 0%
Richard Armey 90%
Joe Baca, Sr. 0%
Spencer Bachus 90%
Brian Baird 20%
Richard Hugh Baker 90%
Cass Ballenger 90%
James Barcia 60%
Bob Barr, Jr. 90%
Roscoe Bartlett 100%
Joe Barton 90%
Charlie Bass 40%
Kenneth Bentsen, Jr. 10%
Douglas Bereuter 80%
Shelley Berkley 10%
Howard Berman 0%
Marion Berry 70%
Judy Biggert 30%
Michael Bilirakis 80%
Rod Blagojevich 10%
Sherwood Boehlert 30%
John Boehner 90%
Henry Bonilla 90%
David Edward Bonior 30%
Mary Bono Mack 60%
Robert Borski, Jr. 40%
Leonard Boswell 10%
Rick Boucher 20%
Allen Boyd, Jr. 30%
Bob Brady 0%
Corrine Brown 0%
Henry Brown, Jr. 90%
Ed Bryant 90%
Dan Burton 90%
Steve Buyer 90%
Herbert Callahan 90%
Dave Camp 90%
Chris Cannon 90%
Eric Cantor 90%
Lois Capps 11%
Mike Capuano 0%
Brad Carson 40%
Julia Carson 10%
Mike Castle 40%
Saxby Chambliss 89%
Eva Clayton 0%
Robert Clement 56%
Howard Coble 90%
Michael Collins 90%
Larry Combest 90%
Gary Condit 10%
John Conyers, Jr. 10%
John Cooksey 89%
Jerry Costello 70%
Christopher Cox 90%
William Coyne 0%
Robert Cramer 70%
Philip Crane 100%
Ander Crenshaw 90%
Joe Crowley 10%
Barbara Cubin 100%
John Culberson 90%
Randall Cunningham 90%
James Davis 30%
Jo Ann Davis 90%
Thomas Davis III 60%
Nathan Deal 90%
Bill Delahunt 10%
Thomas DeLay 90%
James DeMint 100%
Peter Deutsch 10%
Lincoln Diaz-Balart 90%
Norm Dicks 0%
John Dingell 10%
Calvin Dooley 0%
John Doolittle 100%
David Dreier 80%
John Duncan, Jr. 100%
Jennifer Dunn 80%
Chet Edwards 40%
Vern Ehlers 90%
Bob Ehrlich, Jr. 78%
Jo Ann Emerson 80%
Philip English 70%
Bob Etheridge 10%
Lane Evans 0%
Terry Everett 90%
Sam Farr 0%
Chaka Fattah, Sr. 0%
Michael Ferguson 70%
Bob Filner 10%
Jeff Flake 100%
Ernest Fletcher 90%
Mark Foley 50%
Randy Forbes 100%
Harold Ford, Jr. 20%
Vito Fossella, Jr. 90%
Barney Frank 10%
Rodney Frelinghuysen 60%
Jonas Frost III 0%
Elton Gallegly 90%
John Ganske 70%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.01. This is a card processor fee. Please know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a one-time charge of $0.01 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top