Rating Group: Mississippi Human Services Coalition

2008 Positions on Social Services Advocacy

State Office Name Party Rating
MS U.S. House-4 Steven Palazzo R 10
MS State House-1 Lester Carpenter R 0
MS State House-10 Nolan Mettetal R 0
MS State House-14 Margaret Rogers R 56
MS State House-15 Mac Huddleston R 0
MS State House-16 Stephen Holland D 100
MS State House-18 Jerry Turner R 11
MS State House-21 Donnie Bell R 78
MS State House-22 Preston Sullivan D 70
MS State House-23 Jim Beckett R 10
MS State House-31 Sara Thomas D 100
MS State House-32 Willie Perkins, Sr. D 100
MS State House-33 Thomas Reynolds II D 100
MS State House-37 Gary Chism R 10
MS State House-38 Tyrone Ellis D 100
MS State House-39 Jeffrey Smith R 10
MS State House-44 C. Scott Bounds R 20
MS State House-47 Bryant Clark D 100
MS State House-49 Willie Bailey D 100
MS State House-50 John Hines, Sr. D 100
MS State House-51 Rufus Straughter D 100
MS State House-54 Alex Monsour R 0
MS State House-56 Philip Gunn R 0
MS State House-57 Edward Blackmon, Jr. D 89
MS State House-61 Ray Rogers R 10
MS State House-62 Tom Weathersby, Sr. R 10
MS State House-64 Bill Denny, Jr. R 10
MS State House-67 Earle Banks D 100
MS State House-68 Credell Calhoun D 100
MS State House-69 Alyce Clarke D 100
MS State House-71 Adrienne Wooten D 100
MS State House-74 Mark Baker R 0
MS State House-76 Greg Holloway, Sr. D 100
MS State House-77 Andy Gipson R 0
MS State House-80 Omeria Scott D 100
MS State House-81 Stephen Horne R 33
MS State House-83 Greg Snowden R 0
MS State House-85 America Middleton D 100
MS State House-88 Gary Staples R 20
MS State House-91 Bob Evans D 100
MS State House-92 Becky Currie R 0
MS State House-94 Robert Johnson III D 90
MS State House-96 Angela Cockerham D 100
MS State House-97 Sam Mims V R 0
MS State House-98 David Myers D 100
MS State House-99 Bill Pigott R 0
MS State House-100 Ken Morgan R 10
MS State House-102 Toby Barker R 30
MS State House-103 Percy Watson D 100
MS State House-104 Larry Byrd R 0
MS State House-112 John Read R 11
MS State House-113 Henry Zuber III R 20
MS State House-115 Randall Patterson D 60
MS State House-120 Richard Bennett R 10
MS State House-122 David Baria D 67
MS State Senate-3 Nickey Browning R 0
MS State Senate-5 J. P. Wilemon, Jr. D 33
MS State Senate-7 Hob Bryan D 100
MS State Senate-9 Gray Tollison R 100
MS State Senate-11 Robert Jackson D 100
MS State Senate-13 Willie Simmons D 100
MS State Senate-14 Lydia Chassaniol R 17
MS State Senate-15 Gary Jackson R 27
MS State Senate-22 Eugene Clarke R 0
MS State Senate-23 Briggs Hopson III R 17
MS State Senate-24 David Jordan D 100
MS State Senate-25 J. Walter Michel R 17
MS State Senate-26 John Horhn D 100
MS State Senate-27 Hillman Frazier D 100
MS State Senate-29 David Blount D 100
MS State Senate-30 Dean Kirby R 0
MS State Senate-31 Terry Burton R 17
MS State Senate-32 Sampson Jackson II D 67
MS State Senate-33 Videt Carmichael R 0
MS State Senate-37 Bob Dearing D 60
MS State Senate-41 Joey Fillingane R 0
MS State Senate-42 Chris McDaniel R 0
MS State Senate-45 Billy Hudson, Sr. R 33
MS State Senate-48 Deborah Dawkins D 100
MS State Senate-50 Tommy Gollott R 67
MS State Senate-51 Michael Watson R 0
Noal Akins 22
Sidney Albritton 60
Brian Aldridge 10
Tracy Arinder, Jr. 90
Larry Baker 10
Sidney Bondurant 0
Billy Broomfield 100
Cecil Brown 80
Terry Brown 33
Kelvin Buck 100
Clara Burnett 100
Kelvin Butler 100
Tad Campbell 44
Kimberly Campbell 100
Linda Coleman 100
Mary Coleman 100
Joseph Compretta 90
Doug Davis 0
E. Vincent Davis 100
Dirk Dedeaux 70
George Dickerson 50
Reecy Dickson 100
Mark DuVall 90
Blaine Eaton II 70
James Ellington 10
Chuck Espy 90
James Evans 100
Harvey Fillingane 0
George Flaggs, Jr. 100
Merle Flowers 0
Mark Formby 0
Frances Fredericks 100
Herbert Frierson 10
Jack Gadd 50
Joe Gardner 100
David Gibbs 100
Carl Gordon, Jr. 25
Daniel Guice, Jr. 0
Eugene Hamilton 10
Frank Hamilton 11
Alice Harden 83
Esther Harrison 100
William Hewes III 0
Bobby Howell 10
Robert Huddleston 100
Cindy Hyde-Smith 33
Roger Ishee 10
Michael Janus 10
Wanda Jennings 10
Brandon Jones 90
Kenneth Jones 100
Thomas King, Jr. 0
Sherra Lane 100
Ezell Lee 75
Perry Lee 17
Bennett Malone 90
Rita Martinson 0
W.T. Mayhall, Jr. 10
John Mayo 100
Warner McBride 60
William McCoy 100
Kevin McGee 0
Robert Moak 89
T.O. Moffatt 0
Haskins Montgomery 67
John Moore 0
E. Harvey Moss 80
Billy Nicholson 30
David Norquist 90
Russ Nowell 40
Alan Nunnelee 0
Deryk Parker 40
Diane Peranich 100
Eric Powell 83
Jimmy Puckett 90
Dannie Reed 20
Walter Robinson, Jr. 100
Bobby Shows 30
Ferr Smith 100
Mary Stevens 20
Bill Stone 100
Johnny Stringer 70
Bennie Turner 100
Jessica Upshaw 10
J. Shaun Walley 70
Johnnie Walls, Jr. 100
Giles Ward 17
Greg Ward 70
Joseph Warren 70
Linda Whittington 100
Tommy Woods 10
Lee Yancey 0
Charles Young, Sr. 100

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.