Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Sierra Club Hawaii Chapter

2005-2006 Positions

Issues: Environment
State Office District Name Party Rating
HI U.S. Senate Sr Brian Schatz Democratic 92%
HI U.S. House 1 Colleen Hanabusa Democratic 64%
HI Governor David Ige Democratic 64%
HI Lieutenant Governor Shan Tsutsui Democratic 77%
HI State House 7 Cindy Evans Democratic 67%
HI State House 8 Joseph Souki, Jr. Democratic 45%
HI State House 12 Kyle Yamashita Democratic 58%
HI State House 20 Calvin Say Democratic 58%
HI State House 21 Scott Nishimoto Democratic 67%
HI State House 25 Sylvia Luke Democratic 75%
HI State House 26 Scott Saiki Democratic 67%
HI State House 35 Roy Takumi Democratic 91%
HI State House 37 Ryan Yamane Democratic 50%
HI State House 46 Marcus Oshiro Democratic 58%
HI State House 49 Ken Ito Democratic 50%
HI State House 50 Cynthia Thielen Republican 92%
HI State Senate 3 Josh Green Democratic 73%
HI State Senate 4 Lorraine Inouye Democratic 57%
HI State Senate 6 Roz Baker Democratic 64%
HI State Senate 7 Kalani English Democratic 86%
HI State Senate 10 Les Ihara, Jr. Democratic 92%
HI State Senate 11 Brian Taniguchi Democratic 54%
HI State Senate 14 Donna Kim Democratic 71%
HI State Senate 15 Glenn Wakai Democratic 75%
HI State Senate 17 Clarence Nishihara Democratic 79%
HI State Senate 19 Will Espero Democratic 57%
HI State Senate 21 Maile Shimabukuro Democratic 92%
HI Council Member 1 Kymberly Pine 50%
HI Council Member 6 Carol Fukunaga 79%
HI Council Member 6 Carol Fukunaga Democratic 79%
HI Council Member 9 Ron Menor 50%
HI Council Member At-Large Gary Hooser 93%
Jun Abinsay 45%
Dennis Arakaki 64%
Lyla Berg 92%
Robert Bunda 71%
Rida Cabanilla 58%
Kirk Caldwell 90%
Mele Carroll 83%
Jerry Chang 42%
Corinne Ching 75%
Pono Chong 58%
Suzanne Chun Oakland 79%
Lynn Finnegan 33%
Heléne Hale 82%
Chris Halford 50%
Beverly Harbin 38%
Clayton Hee 79%
Frederick Hemmings, Jr. 57%
Robert Herkes 50%
Bob Hogue 50%
Michael Kahikina 67%
Brian Kanno 71%
Ezra Kanoho 58%
Jon Karamatsu 58%
Bertha Kawakami 42%
Russell Kokubun 64%
Marilyn Lee 67%
Michael Magaoay 58%
Barbara Marumoto 17%
Colleen Meyer 8%
Hermina Morita 100%
Mark Moses 17%
Robert Nakasone 27%
Blake Oshiro 80%
Norman Sakamoto 71%
Sam Slom 14%
Alex Sonson 58%
Anne Stevens 88%
William Stonebraker 20%
Mark Takai 58%
Dwight Takamine 58%
Kameo Tanaka 64%
Gordon Trimble 21%
Clifton Tsuji 58%
Thomas Waters 100%
Paul Whalen 8%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top