Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Michigan National Federation of Independent Business

2007-2008 Positions on Pro-Small Business Policy

State Office District Name Party Rating
MI Lieutenant Governor Brian Calley Republican 64%
MI State House 2 Bettie Scott Democratic 9%
MI State Senate 1 Coleman Young II Democratic 9%
MI State Senate 2 Bert Johnson Democratic 9%
MI State Senate 10 Tory Rocca Republican 36%
MI State Senate 12 James Marleau Republican 91%
MI State Senate 13 Martin Knollenberg Republican 91%
MI State Senate 18 Rebekah Warren Democratic 9%
MI State Senate 21 John Proos IV Republican 82%
MI State Senate 24 Rick Jones Republican 82%
MI State Senate 25 Phil Pavlov Republican 100%
MI State Senate 26 Tonya Schuitmaker Republican 91%
MI State Senate 29 Dave Hildenbrand Republican 73%
MI State Senate 30 Arlan Meekhof Republican 100%
MI State Senate 32 Kenneth Horn Republican 82%
MI State Senate 34 Goeff Hansen Republican 73%
MI State Senate 35 Darwin Booher Republican 91%
MI Council Member At-Large Bob Constan 9%
MI Council Member At-Large George Cushingberry, Jr. 9%
MI Council Member At-Large Gabriel Leland 9%
MI Council Member At-Large Mark Meadows Democratic 9%
MI Commissioner 3 Martha Scott 20%
MI Commissioner 5 Irma Clark-Coleman 20%
MI Commissioner 12 Glen Anderson 18%
MI Commissioner 14 Raymond Basham 18%
Dave Agema 100%
Jason Allen 73%
Glenn Anderson 73%
Kathy Angerer 9%
Richard Ball 55%
James Barcia 27%
Joan Bauer 9%
Douglas Bennett 10%
Patricia Birkholz 73%
Michael Bishop 64%
Elizabeth Brater 36%
Cameron Brown 82%
Terry Brown 18%
Pam Byrnes 9%
Barbara Byrum 18%
Nancy Cassis 82%
Bill Caul 82%
Deborah Cherry 18%
Hansen Clarke 30%
Ed Clemente 9%
Marc Corriveau 36%
Andrew Coulouris 9%
Alan Cropsey 64%
Robert Dean 18%
Andy Dillon 9%
Marie Donigan 9%
Kate Ebli 27%
Kevin Elsenheimer 91%
John Espinoza 10%
Valdemar Garcia 45%
Tom George 82%
Judson Gilbert II 73%
John Gleason 18%
Lee Gonzales 10%
Kevin Green 90%
Martin Griffin 45%
Richard Hammel 9%
Bill Hardiman 73%
Tupac Hunter 18%
Shanelle Jackson 9%
Gilda Jacobs 18%
Mark Jansen 73%
Ron Jelinek 55%
Robert Jones 9%
Roger Kahn 73%
Wayne Kuipers 64%
Michael Lahti 9%
LaMar Lemmons, Jr. 9%
Steven Lindberg 9%
Jeff Mayes 18%
Gary McDowell 9%
Michelle McManus 73%
Tim Melton 9%
Kim Meltzer 80%
Fred Miller 9%
Tim Moore 64%
Chuck Moss 100%
Dennis Olshove 18%
Paul Opsommer 82%
John Pappageorge 64%
Bruce Patterson 80%
Thomas Pearce 100%
Gino Polidori 9%
Michael Prusi 27%
Randy Richardville 64%
Alan Sanborn 91%
Joel Sheltrown 18%
Mike Simpson 27%
Alma Smith 9%
Dudley Spade 27%
Tony Stamas 73%
Mickey Switalski 18%
Samuel Thomas III 18%
Mary Valentine 18%
Gerald Van Woerkom 82%
Gretchen Whitmer 20%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Back to top