Search Form
First, enter a politician or zip code
Now, choose a category

Special Interest Groups

Rating Group: Michigan National Federation of Independent Business

2003-2004 Positions

State Office District Name Party Rating
MI U.S. House 2 Bill Huizenga Republican 85%
MI U.S. House 4 John Moolenaar Republican 86%
MI State Senate 3 Morris Hood III Democratic 14%
MI State Senate 6 Hoon-Yung Hopgood Democratic 14%
MI State Senate 8 Jack Brandenburg Republican 85%
MI State Senate 9 Steven Bieda Democratic 21%
MI State Senate 10 Tory Rocca Republican 62%
MI State Senate 14 Dave Robertson Republican 86%
MI State Senate 19 Michael Nofs Republican 71%
MI State Senate 22 Joe Hune Republican 86%
MI State Senate 33 Judy Emmons Republican 79%
MI State Senate 38 Tom Casperson Republican 71%
MI Mayor At-Large Paula Zelenko 15%
MI Supervisor At-Large Philip LaJoy Republican 86%
MI Commissioner 2 Brenda Clack 14%
MI Commissioner 3 Martha Scott 33%
MI Commissioner 3 Rick Shaffer 79%
MI Commissioner 4 Bruce Caswell No Party Affiliation 79%
MI Commissioner 5 Irma Clark-Coleman 22%
MI Commissioner 12 Shelley Taub Republican 86%
MI Commissioner 13 Leon Drolet Republican 93%
MI Commissioner 14 Raymond Basham 30%
Frank Accavitti, Jr. 21%
Daniel Acciavatti 93%
Stephen Adamini 17%
Jason Allen 90%
Fran Amos 86%
Glenn Anderson 14%
James Barcia 50%
Virg Bernero 40%
Patricia Birkholz 80%
Michael Bishop 80%
Elizabeth Brater 30%
Cameron Brown 80%
Rich Brown 31%
Dianne Byrum 21%
Nancy Cassis 80%
Bill Caul 86%
Marsha Cheeks 15%
Deborah Cherry 40%
Hansen Clarke 40%
Paul Condino 14%
Alan Cropsey 80%
Craig DeRoche 86%
Robert Emerson 33%
David Farhat 79%
Barbara Farrah 15%
Edward Gaffney 57%
Valdemar Garcia 80%
John Garfield 93%
Tom George 80%
Judson Gilbert II 90%
Matthew Gillard 36%
John Gleason 21%
Michael Goschka 70%
Beverly Hammerstrom 70%
Bill Hardiman 80%
Jack Hoogendyk, Jr. 93%
Scott Hummel 86%
Tupac Hunter 15%
Gilda Jacobs 40%
Ron Jelinek 80%
R. Shirley Johnson 75%
Chris Kolb 14%
Jerry O. Kooiman 79%
Wayne Kuipers 80%
Kathleen Law 23%
Burton Leland 30%
Alexander Lipsey 14%
Bill McConico 8%
Michelle McManus 75%
Andy Meisner 14%
Tom Meyer 71%
Leslie Mortimer 70%
Michael Murphy 21%
Gary Newell 86%
Neal Nitz 79%
Dennis Olshove 40%
Brian Palmer 86%
David Palsrok 86%
John Pastor 86%
Bruce Patterson 80%
Clarence Phillips 14%
Jim Plakas 21%
Michael Prusi 30%
Michael Sak 21%
Alan Sanborn 80%
Mark Schauer 33%
Fulton Sheen 93%
Joel Sheltrown 21%
Kenneth Sikkema 80%
Virgil Smith, Jr. 8%
Dudley Spade 36%
John Stahl 93%
John Stakoe 86%
Tony Stamas 80%
Glenn Steil, Jr. 79%
John Stewart 71%
Mickey Switalski 40%
Samuel Thomas III 44%
Steven Tobocman 21%
Laura M. Toy 75%
Aldo Vagnozzi 21%
Barb Vander Veen 92%
William VanRegenmorter 93%
Gerald Van Woerkom 80%
Howard Walker 86%
Christopher Ward 86%
Mary Waters 14%
Lorence Wenke 85%
Gretchen Whitmer 0%
Carl Williams 15%
Lisa Wojno 21%

How to Interpret these Evaluations

Keep in mind that ratings done by special interest groups often do not represent a non-partisan stance. In addition, some groups select votes that tend to favor members of one political party over another, rather than choosing votes based solely on issues concerns. Nevertheless, they can be invaluable in showing where an incumbent has stood on a series of votes in the past one or two years, especially when ratings by groups on all sides of an issue are compared. Website links, if available, and descriptions of the organizations offering performance evaluations are accessible by clicking on the name of the group.

Most performance evaluations are displayed in a percentage format. However, some organizations present their ratings in the form of a letter grade or endorsement based on voting records, interviews, survey results and/or sources of campaign funding. For consistency and ease in understanding, Project Vote Smart converts all scores into a percentage when possible. Please visit the group's website or call 1-888-VOTESMART for more specific information.

Skip to top

Help us stay free for all your Fellow Americans

Just $5 from everyone reading this would do it.

Thank You!

You are about to be redirected to a secure checkout page.

Please note:

The total order amount will read $0.00 but know that a recurring donation of the amount and frequency that you selected will be processed and initiated tomorrow. You may see a charge of $0.00 on your statement.

Continue to secure page »

Back to top